Completed Sub-projects

Call for collaboration 2015



Start: June 2015
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In the beginning of 2015, e-codices published its third ‘Call for Collaboration.’ This call, published jointly by e-codices and our partner libraries, again attracted a great deal of international interest. After the great response to the first call in June 2009 with 97 applications from 33 scholars, and the overwhelming success of the second call in 2013 with 137 applications from 55 scholars, we have this time received 91 applications from 36 scholars. The scholars again come from a variety of countries: Germany (9), Switzerland (7), United Kingdom (6), the USA (5), Italy (4), France (2), Sweden (1), Armenia (1) and Hungary (1); almost all disciplines of medieval studies are represented. Proposals were for manuscripts from 18 libraries, an especially large number from the Burgerbibliothek Bern (23), the Zentralbibliothek Zürich (12), the Universitätsbibliothek Basel (8), but also from three new collections that have not yet been represented on e-codices. Also suggested were six manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall, where more than half of the collection of medieval manuscripts has already been made digitally accessible. Such continuing demand clearly shows that, despite the great number of manuscripts that have already been digitized, the scholarly interest has by far not been satisfied. By March 2017, 34 manuscripts from 10 different collections have been published. 

Manuscripts list

e-codices 2013-2016


Period: January 2013 - December 2016
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: Since 2013, e-codices has been integrated into the swissuniversities program «Scientific Information» in order to develop a network of digital services. This support has made possible various sub-projects such as «Call for collaboration 2013», «Call for collaboration 2015», «Treasures from small collections», «Codices Fuldenses Helvetiae», «Autographs of Jean-Jacques Rousseau», «Digitization of all medieval manuscripts of Hermetschwil Convent» or «e-codices for iPhone and iPad». The overall project also supported the new web application e-codices v2.

Manuscripts list

Call for collaboration 2013

 

 

Period: January 2013 - December 2014 (Subproject of the “Competence Center”)
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: In mid-January 2013, e-codices published its second ‘Call for Collaboration.’ This call, published jointly with our Swiss partner libraries, once more invited scholars to suggest Swiss manuscripts for digitization. As with the first such call, interest among international manuscript researchers was impressive; in fact, considerably more proposals were submitted this time than for the first call in June 2009. The number of researchers who submitted proposals rose from 33 to 55. Many researchers suggested several manuscripts at once, so that we received no fewer than 134 individual proposals. Three years before, the total number of proposals was 97.
Altogether manuscripts from 22 collections were recommended, among these several Swiss manuscripts which are held today in foreign libraries, as well as a newly discovered and previously completely unknown manuscript from a private collection in Geneva. Since the feedback to our second call for collaboration was so impressive, in agreement with the collaborating libraries, we decided to increase the number of projects from 25 to 56 manuscripts (and a number of additional fragments) in collaboration with 30 scholars from nine different countries.

Manuscripts list

new-web-application

 

 

 

 

 

Web Application e-codices v. 2.0



Period: January 2013 - December 2014 (Subproject of the “Competence Center”)
Financed by: swissuniversities

Description: the web application e-codices v. 1.29, in use over the past six years, will be replaced in late December 2014 with a new version, e-codices v. 2.0. Both the front and back ends have been reprogrammed. The new version uses a Loris image server with integrated API IIIF and the SharedCanvas data model. In addition, we plan to develop a CMS (Content-Management-System) that will simplify the management of libraries, collections, subprojects, images and sequences, so that in future new manuscripts can be added to collections via a simple user interface, without the need for special training or IT background.
Programming : text & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

Digitization of the Antiphonaries of the Chapter of St. Nicolas, Fribourg



Period: September 2012 - April 2014
Co-financed by: Chapter Archive of St. Nicolas, Fribourg

Description: Antiphonaries are liturgical manuscripts of Gregorian chants which register the Liturgy of the Hours, as this was celebrated in the Middle Ages by the monks and canons of cathedral and collegiate chapters. Each Liturgy of the Hours consisted of a recitation of Psalms, linked together by antiphons, a reading, a hymn, and a prayer. The eight volumes of the St. Nicolas Antiphonaries, consisting of two sets of four volumes each, to be placed in front of the choir stalls, visible from both sides of the choir, were produced in the years 1509-1517 for the newly founded Monastery of St. Nicolas in Fribourg and are among the finest examples of medieval Swiss antiphonaries. For the 500th anniversary of the Cathedral, the eight volumes were digitized and made available via e-codices. The antiphonaries have been digitized thanks to the financial support of the "the 4 pillars of Fribourg's economy" (Groupe E, BCF, ECAB and TPF).

Manuscripts list
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

e-codices for iPhone and iPad



Period: January – June 2013
Financed by: Codices electronici AG, Fribourg

Description: Although the possible uses of an iphone appear almost limitless, this personal digital assistant (PDA) still is rarely used for scholarly work in the humanities. Through the iCodices project, e-codices created a mobile application as a scholarly tool. The project is based on the idea that an app for manuscripts would not only substantially simplify scholarly work, but also would allow for new presentation options and would finally result in a wider distribution of manuscript sources among a larger public.
Some things one can do with the app:

  • Search and browse all manuscripts
  • Bookmark single pages within manuscripts
  • Bookmark manuscripts and build your own library („MyCodices“)
  • Download entire manuscripts and view them offline

Principal investigator: Rafael Schwemmer, Digital Humanities Specialist
Programming text & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

Another thirty medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall



Period: June 2012 - February 2013
Supported by: Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / SwisslosAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: Support from the St. Gall lottery fund has enabled e-codices to make accessible 30 more medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The digital reproduction of this selection of manuscripts was made possible in 2010 by support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Manuscripts list

e-sequence



Period: January - December 2012
Financed by: Accentus Foundation und Ernst Göhner Foundation
Joint Project with: Abbey Library of St. Gall, SWR Tübingen, University of Tübingen, Christopherus-Label

Description: In the Carolingian era in the 9th century, a musical notation with neumes was developed; with this notation, liturgical song, the so-called Gregorian chant and its extensions such as the sequences, could for the first time be recorded in a decisively new way, namely according to the exact agogic progression. Although the music that once filled the St. Gall monastery in the 9th and 10th centuries has long since faded away, the St. Gall manuscripts offer valuable clues for bringing it back to life. In this regard, special attention has been paid to the reconstruction of the melodies by comparing numerous manuscripts and realizing subtleties of vocal intrepretation, as indicated by specific neumes. A joint project with the Abbey Library of St. Gall, e-codices, the SWR Tübingen (Southwest Broadcasting), and the University of Tübingen, as well as the Christopherus-Label, has permanently and dynamically brought together the recordings of Notker’s Sequences (ASIN: B004EH24H2) on the award-winning CD by the „Ordo virtutum“ ensemble with the corresponding digital copies of the manuscripts.
Principal investigator: Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent, Musikwissenschaftliches Institut der Universität Tübingen
Programmingtext & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

Swiss Illustrated Chronicles



Period: June 2012 - December 2012
Financed bySophie and Karl Binding Foundation

Description: In beautifully illuminated manuscipts, the Swiss Illustrated Chronicles from the 15th and 16th centuries present the history of the Swiss Confederation. According to Carl Pfaff, they are part of “the most precious legacy that medieval Switzerland has bequeathed to us” (Die Welt der Schweizer Bilderchroniken, Schwyz 1991, p. 9). With support from the Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation, e-codices has made available three of these Swiss Illustrated Chronicles: the Chronicle by Werner Schodoler (in three volumes), the Spiezer Chronik> (one volume), and the Berner Chronik (the so-called “Amtlicher Schilling” (“Official Schilling”) in three volumes).

Manuscripts list

Mellon 2011-2012



Period: January 2011 - December 2012
Financed byAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: Further support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has enabled us to realize three key aims by the end of 2012: sustainability, interoperability and content. Safeguarding sustainability had main priority. The aim is to create a business model on which the basic operations of e-codices can be conducted without support from grant providers beginning in the year 2013. Expansion of interoperability involves the linkage of e-codices with various portals and the addition of specialized user tools. Content expansions involves presentation of an additional 100 manuscripts from a variety of libraries in Switzerland.

Manuscripts list

Frowin's Library



Period: May 2011 - June 2012
Financed byStavros Niarchos Foundation

Description: The continued support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation has made possible the digitalization and the presentation on e-codices of 40 manuscripts produced under Abbot Frowin in the early years of the monastery of Engelberg (Canton of Obwalden). In terms of its nature and completeness, this collection is unique in Switzerland; indeed, it shows how, in the High Middle Ages, a conventual library collection was planned and built up. The roughly 40 codices preserved that are "Frowinian", that is, manuscripts produced at the time of his abbacy and plainly under his direction, include numerous works of the Church Fathers Augustine, Ambrose, Jerome, Gregory, rounded out with works by Orosius, Isidore of Seville, Paschasius Radbert and the Venerable Bede, as well as Biblical manuscripts of exceptional artistic quality. In addition to these works, there are also a large number of contemporary writings, including those by authors such as Hugh of Saint Victor and Bernard of Clairvaux, as well as a collection of texts pertaining to the eleventh-century controversy over the Eucharist. Frowin evidently studied all these works carefully and used them in his own writings.

Manuscripts list

Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland



Period: January 2008 - December 2011
Financed bySwiss electronic library

Description: With the financial backing of e-lib.ch (the Swiss Electronic Library), a total of 100 manuscripts from various Swiss Libraries has been digitized by the end of the year 2011. e-lib.ch is a joint project of the Swiss University Conference, the ETH-Board (Board of the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology) and the Federal Office for Professional Education and Technology (OPET). This subproject has been commissioned by the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences (SAGW).
Steering Committee: Prof. Rudolf Gschwind and Prof. Dr. Lukas Rosenthaler, Imaging and Media Lab, Universität Basel; Barbara Roth PhD, Manuscript Conservator, Bibliothèque de Genève; Heidi Eisenhut PhD, Director of the Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Trogen.

Manuscripts list

Collaborative Projects



Period: January 2010 - June 2011
Financed byAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: The main aim of this second Mellon funded project phase was to strengthen the function of e-codices as an international platform for research on manuscripts from Swiss collections. A 'call for collaboration' was published on our website in June 2009, in which scholars were invited to suggest manuscripts for digitization. From among more than 150 proposals submitted, our internal evaluation process allowed us to select 60 manuscripts for digitization. Types of collaboration varied greatly, from writing new scholarly manuscript descriptions to developing tools for online manuscript study, to building connections with other virtual manuscript library websites.

Manuscripts list

Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries



Period: January 2010 - August 2010
Financed byStavros Niarchos Foundation

Description: The project "Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries" included digitizing 40 manuscripts and the additional work necessary to publish the manuscripts on the e-codices Web site. The selection includes manuscripts from various Swiss libraries, including the Abbey Library of Saint Gall, the Abbey Library of Einsiedeln, the Library of Geneva, the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny (Geneva) and the Burgerbibliothek Bern. The project focuses on three types of materials: manuscripts containing texts from Greek antiquity in the Greek language, manuscripts containing medieval and early modern translations of Greek classics, and manuscripts containing medieval commentaries on key works of Greek antiquity.

Manuscripts list

Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices II



Period: January - December 2009
Financed byLoterie Romande

Description: The process of digitizing the manuscripts of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny has been underway since 2007. In 2009, the digitisation of another 40 manuscripts was made possible by the renewed financial support of the Loterie Romande.

Manuscripts list

The Virtual Abbey Library of Saint Gall



Period: January 2008 - December 2009
Financed byAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: As of the end of 2009, over 300 manuscripts written before the year 1000 and held by the Abbey Library of St. Gall had been made available on e-codices. The web application had also been further developed using the most up to date informatics tools, allowing users to gain access to the website database faster and more easily. Financial support for this sub-project was provided by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (New York).

Manuscripts list

Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi



Period: January 2008 - December 2009
Financed byAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Description: In most cases, the manuscripts originally held by medieval libraries have been removed to other locations. This is also the case with the St. Gall and Reichenau manuscripts. By means of a virtual manuscipt library, however, scattered collections can be virtually reconstituted. Under the auspices of this subproject, a selection of manuscripts originally held by the Abbeys of St. Gall and Reichenau, now distributed among various collections in Switzerland, was virtually gathered together by the end of 2009. This subproject was also made possible by support from the Mellon Foundation (New York).

Manuscripts list

Fondation Martin Bodmer on e-codices I



Period: January - December 2007
Financed byLoterie Romande

Description: The process of digitizing the manuscripts of the Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny has been underway since 2007. In the same year the digitisation of 40 manuscripts was made possible by the generous financial support of the Loterie Romande.

Manuscripts list

St. Gall's Cultural Assets from Zurich



Period: January - December 2007
Financed by: Catholic church membership of the Canton of St. Gallen and the St. Gallen Bureau of Culture

Description: In the Toggenburg War of 1712, the last religious war of the old Swiss Confederation, the Prince-Abbot of St. Gall was defeated by the forces of Zurich and Bern. Following their invasion of the Cloister of St. Gall, the victors carried away library materials and other cultural assets, dividing them among themselves. After the peace agreement of 1718, most materials were returned, with the exception of a number of valuable manuscripts which remained in Zurich. After almost 300 years, the ongoing, more or less contentious cultural property dispute between St. Gall and Zurich was finally resolved in the spring of 2006. Among the requirements of the compromise were that Zurich return the manuscripts in question to St. Gallen on long-term loan, and that the Canton of St. Gallen digitize them and make them available on the Internet by the end of 2007. This digitization was funded by the Catholic church membership of the Canton of St. Gallen and the St. Gallen Bureau of Culture.

Manuscripts list

St. Gall's Music Manuscripts



Period: October 2006 - May 2007
Financed by: Ernst Göhner Foundation 

Description: Among its many treasures, the Abbey Library of St. Gall holds the oldest complete surviving music manuscript (Cod. Sang. 359, dating from 920/30). We were able to digitize this item, together with thirteen additional music manuscripts, including elaborate liturgical manuscripts from the "Silver Age" and prepare them for presentation on the internet during the second project year, 2006, thanks to the generous financial support of the Ernst-Göhner-Stiftung.

Manuscripts list

St. Gall's Treasure Trove of Monuments to the Old High German Language



Period: January 2005 – December 2006
Financed byFriends of the Abbey Library

Description: Germanists like to refer to the Abbey Library of St. Gall as the "Treasure Trove of Memorials to the Old High German Language". In terms of both quality and magnitude, the St. Gall collection is unmatched as a source of significant documentation of the German language. Thanks to the financial support of the "Friends of the Abbey Library", thirteen important Old High German manuscripts were digitized in 2006: Cod. Sang. 21 (Old High German Psalter of Notker the German), 56 (Tatian's Gospel Harmony), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (Old High German translation and commentary on Boethius's 'De consolatione philosophiae' by Notker the German), 872 (Notker's Translation and commentary on 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' by Martianus Capella), 904 (Irish Priscian Manuscript), 911 (Abrogans), 913 (St. Gall Vocabulary), 916 (St. Benedict's Rule), 966.

Manuscripts list

Pilot Project: Digital Abbey Library of St. Gall



Period: January 2005 – December 2006
Financed by: Paul Schiller Foundation, UBS Cultural Foundation, Ernst Göhner Foundation, Otto Gamma Foundation, Jubilee Foundation of Swiss Mobiliar Insurance, Research Funding Foundation of the University of Fribourg, Jubilee Foundation of the Zurich Insurance Group and the Friends of the Abbey Library of St. Gall

Description: In the pilot project a selection of medieval manuscripts from the Abbey Library of St. Gall was digitized. This start-up project was made possible by different financial supporters.

Manuscripts list

Abgeschlossene Teilprojekte

Call for collaboration 2013



Dauer: Januar 2013 - Dezember 2014 (Teilprojekt des “Kompetenzzentrums”)
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities 

Beschreibung: Mitte Januar 2013 hat e-codices den 2. „Call for Collaboration“ veröffentlicht. Der gemeinsam mit den schweizerischen Partnerbibliotheken publizierte Call rief die Forscher erneut auf, schweizerische Handschriften zur Digitalisierung vorzuschlagen. Wie schon beim ersten Aufruf war das Interesse der internationalen Handschriftenforschung enorm gross. Es wurden sogar deutlich mehr Gesuche eingereicht als beim ersten Aufruf im Juni 2009. Die Anzahl Forscher, die Anträge einreichten, ist von 33 auf 55 angestiegen. Viele Forscher haben gleich mehrere Handschriften vorgeschlagen, so dass wir nicht weniger als 134 einzelne Anträge erhielten. Vor drei Jahren waren es noch insgesamt 97 Anträge.
Insgesamt wurden Handschriften aus 22 Sammlungen vorgeschlagen, darunter auch einige schweizerische Handschriften, die heute in ausländischen Bibliotheken aufbewahrt werden und auch eine neu entdeckte und bisher vollständig unbekannte Handschrift aus einer privaten Sammlung in Genf.

Liste der Handschriften

 

mockup

 

 

 

 

 

Webanwendung e-codices v. 2.0

 

Dauer: Januar 2013 - Dezember 2014 (Teilprojekt des “Kompetenzzentrums”)
Finanziert durch: swissuniversities 

Beschreibung: Die Anwendung e-codices v1.29, die während sechs Jahren verwendet wurde, konnte im Dezember 2014 durch die Version e-codices v. 2.0 ersetzt werden. Das Frontend und das Backend wurden neu programmiert. Die neue Version verwendet den Image Server loris, die Image API IIIF und das Datenmodell  SharedCanvas . Zudem wurde ein CMS entwickelt, das das Management von Bibliotheken, Sammlungen, Teilprojekten, Bildern und Sequences vereinfacht, so dass neue Handschriften ohne spezielle Schulung und Informatikkenntnisse über eine einfache Benutzeroberfläche erfasst werden können.
Programmierung: text & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

 

Digitalisierung der Antiphonare des Kapitels St. Nikolaus, Freiburg



Dauer: September 2012 - April 2014 
Kofinanziert durch: Kapitel St. Nikolaus, Freiburg

Description: Antiphonare sind liturgische Handschriften mit gregorianischen Gesängen, die das Stundengebet festhalten, wie es im Mittelalter von den Mönchen und den Chorherren an Dom- und Kollegiatstiften begangen wurde. Die einzelnen Stundengebete bestanden aus einer Psalmenrezitation, verbunden durch Antiphonen, einer Lesung, einem Hymnus und einem Gebet. Die Antiphonare von St. Nikolaus (8 Bände) wurden in den Jahren 1509-1517 für das neugegründete Chorherrenstift St. Nikolaus in Freiburg hergestellt und gehören zu den schönsten Beispielen ihrer Art in der spätmittelalterlichen Schweiz. Sie bestehen aus zwei Spielen von je vier Bänden, die von beiden Seiten des Chorgestühls aus sichtbar aufgestellt wurden. Zum 500jährigen Jubiläum des Kapitels wurden die acht Bände digitalisiert und auf e-codices bereitgestellt. Die Antiphonare konnten dank den "4 Pfeilern der Freiburger Wirtschaft" (Groupe E, BCF, ECAB und TPF) digitalisiert werden.

Liste der Handschriften
iPhone-app

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

e-codices für iPhone und iPad



Dauer: Januar – Juni 2013
Finanziert durch: Codices electronici AG, Fribourg

Beschreibung: Obwohl die Verwendungsmöglichkeiten eines iPhone beinahe unbegrenzt zu sein scheinen, wird das Smartphone noch kaum für die wissenschaftliche Arbeit in den Geisteswissenschaften verwendet. Mit dem Projekt "e-codices für iPhone und iPad" schuf e-codices eine mobile Applikation als wissenschaftliches Arbeitsinstrument. Das Projekt ist von der Idee getragen, dass eine App für Handschriften die wissenschaftliche Arbeit nicht nur wesentlich vereinfachen wird, sondern auch neue Darstellungsmöglichkeiten ermöglicht und schliesslich zu einer weiteren Verbreitung handschriftlicher Quellen bei einem grösseren Publikum führen wird.
Einige Nutzungsmöglichkeiten des Apps:

  • Alle Handschriften durchsuchen
  • Einzelne Seiten in Handschriften als Favoriten speichern
  • Manuskripte als Favoriten speichern und eine eigene Bibliothek erstellen („MyCodices“)
  • Ganze Handschriften herunterladen und ohne Internetverbindung betrachten

Projektleitung: Rafael Schwemmer, Digital Humanities Specialist
Programmierungtext & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

Dreissig weitere mittelalterliche Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen



Dauer: Juni 2012 - Februar 2013
Supported by: Kanton St.Gallen Kulturförderung / SwisslosAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung: Die Unterstützung durch die Kulturförderung des Kantons St. Gallen / Swisslos ermöglichte die Bereitstellung von 30 weiteren mittelalterlichen Handschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen. Die Digitalisierung konnte zum grössten Teil schon 2010 mit der Unterstützung der Andrew W. Mellon Foundation realisiert werden.

Liste der Handschriften

e-sequence



Dauer: Januar - Dezember 2012
Finanziert durch: Accentus-Stiftung und Ernst Göhner Stiftung
Gemeinschaftsprojekt zusammen mit: Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, SWR Tübingen, Universität Tübingen, Christopherus-Label

Beschreibung: Im Zeitalter der Karolinger im 9. Jahrhundert wurde mit den Neumen eine Notenschrift entwickelt, die den liturgischen Gesang, den so genannten Gregorianischen Choral und seine Erweiterungen wie die Sequenz, erstmals in entscheidend neuer Weise, nämlich dem genauen agogischen Verlauf entsprechend, aufzeichnen konnte. Obwohl die Musik, die im 9. und 10. Jahrhundert das Kloster St. Gallen erfüllte, längst verklungen ist, bieten die St. Galler Handschriften wertvolle Anhaltspunkte, diese heute wieder zum Leben zu erwecken. Besonderes Augenmerk galt hierbei der Rekonstruktion der Melodien durch Vergleich zahlreicher Handschriften und der Umsetzung von Feinheiten der gesanglichen Interpretation, wie sie von speziellen Neumenzeichen angezeigt werden. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt zwischen der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, e-codices, dem SWR Tübingen und der Universität Tübingen sowie dem Christophorus-Label konnten die auf der preisgekrönten CD eingespielten Sequenzen Notkers (ASIN: B004EH24H2) des Ensemble „Ordo virtutum“ nun dauerhaft und dynamisch mit den entsprechenden Digitalisaten der Handschriften verbunden werden.
Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent, Musikwissenschaftliches Institut der Universität Tübingen
Programmierungtext & bytes GmbH, Könizstrasse 18, CH-3008 Bern

Schweizer Bilderchroniken



Dauer: Juni 2012 - Dezember 2012
Finanziert durchSophie und Karl Binding Stiftung

Beschreibung: Die reich illustrierten Schweizer Bilderchroniken aus dem 15. und 16. Jahrhundert stellen in prächtigen Bildbänden die Geschichtsschreibung der Eidgenossenschaft dar und gehören laut Carl Pfaff „zum kostbarsten Erbe, das uns die spätmittelalterliche Schweiz hinterlassen hat“ (Die Welt der Schweizer Bilderchroniken, Schwyz 1991, S. 9). Mit der Unterstützung der Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung konnten drei Schweizer Bilderchroniken auf e-codices erschlossen werden: jene von Werner Schodoler (in drei Bänden), die Spiezer Chronik (in einem Band) und die Berner Chronik (der sog. „Amtliche Schilling“ in drei Bänden).

Liste der Handschriften

Mellon 2011-2012



Dauer: Januar 2011 - Dezember 2012
Finanziert durchAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung: Die weitere finanzielle Unterstützung der Andrew W. Mellon Foundation hat es uns ermöglicht, bis Ende 2012 drei Schlüsselziele zu erreichen: Nachhaltigkeit, Interoperabilität und Inhalt. Dabei hatte die Absicherung der Nachhaltigkeit höchste Priorität. Ziel war es, ein Business-Modell zu schaffen, bei welchem die Basisarbeiten von e-codices ab 2013 ohne Unterstützung durch Fördermitteln ausgeführt werden können. Die Ausweitung der Interoperabilität beinhaltete die Verknüpfung von e-codices mit verschiedenen Portalen und das Hinzufügen von spezialisierten Hilfsmitteln für den Nutzer. Die Ausweitung des Inhalts hat die Publikation von weiteren 100 digitalen Handschriften aus verschiedenen Schweizer Bibliotheken beinhaltet.

Liste der Handschriften

Frowins Bibliothek



Dauer: Mai 2011 - Juni 2012
Finanziert durchStavros Niarchos Foundation

Beschreibung: Dank der wiederholten Unterstützung der Stavros Niarchos Foundation konnten 40 Handschriften aus der Frühzeit des Klosters Engelberg (Kanton Obwalden) unter dem Abt Frowin digitalisiert und auf e-codices präsentiert werden. Diese Sammlung von Handschriften muss in seiner Art und in seiner Geschlossenheit in der Schweiz als einzigartig betrachtet werden, da sie zeigt, wie im hohen Mittelalter sehr gezielt eine Klosterbibliothek aufgebaut wurde. Unter den etwa 40 erhaltenen Codices „Frowiniani“, also Handschriften, die in der Zeit seines Amts und offensichtlich auch unter seiner Leitung entstanden sind, finden sich nicht nur zahlreiche Werke der Kirchenväter Augustinus, Ambrosius, Hieronymus und Gregor, ergänzt durch Werke von Orosius, Isidor von Sevilla, Paschasius Radbert, Beda Venerabilis und Bibelhandschriften von herausragender künstlerischer Qualität, sondern auch eine ganze Reihe von zeitgenössischen Schriften von Autoren wie Hugo von Sankt Victor und Bernhard von Clairvaux oder eine Sammlung von Traktaten aus dem Abendmalstreit des 11. Jahrhundert. Alle diese Schriften hat Frowin offensichtlich sorgfältig studiert und für seine eigenen Schriften verwendet.

Liste der Handschriften

Virtuelle Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz



Dauer: Januar 2008 - Dezember 2011
Finanziert durchElektronische Bibliothek Schweiz

Beschreibung: Durch die Förderung von e-lib.ch ("Elektronische Bibliothek Schweiz") wurden bis Ende 2011 insgesamt 100 Handschriften aus verschiedenen Schweizer Bibliotheken digitalisiert. e-lib.ch wird als Gesamtprojekt von der Schweizerischen Universitätskonferenz, dem ETH-Rat (Rat der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen) und dem Bundesamt für Berufsbildung und Technologie (BBT) getragen. Auftraggeber dieses Teilprojekts ist die Schweizerische Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften (SAGW).
Steuerungsausschuss: Prof. Rudolf Gschwind und Prof. Dr. Lukas Rosenthaler, Imaging und Media Lab, Universität Basel; Dr. Barbara Roth, Handschriftenkonservatorin, Bibliothèque de Genève; Dr. Heidi Eisenhut, Leiterin der Kantonsbibliothek Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Trogen.

Liste der Handschriften

Kollaborationsprojekte



Dauer: Januar 2010 - Juni 2011
Finanziert durchAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung: Das Hauptziel dieser zweiten von der Mellon Foundation finanzierten Projektphase war es, e-codices als Plattform der internationalen Handschriftenforschung über Handschriften aus schweizerischen Sammlungen zu stärken. Im Juni 2009 wurde ein 'call for collaboration' auf der Website von e-codices publiziert, welcher Handschriftenforscherinnen und -forscher auf der ganzen Welt dazu aufforderte, Handschriften zur Digitalisierung durch e-codices vorzuschlagen. Von über 150 eingereichten Vorschlägen konnten in einem internen Auswahlverfahren 60 ausgewählt werden. Die Form der Zusammenarbeit war sehr vielfältig und enthielt neben neuen wissenschaftlichen Handschriftenbeschreibungen auch neue Werkzeuge zur Erforschung von Handschriften oder Verbindungen mit anderen virtuellen Handschriftenbibliotheken.

Liste der Handschriften

Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries



Dauer: Januar 2010 - August 2010
Finanziert durchStavros Niarchos Foundation

Beschreibung: Im Rahmen des Teilprojekts "Greek Sources in Swiss Libraries" wurden 40 Handschriften digitalisiert und auf der e-codices Website zugänglich gemacht. Die Auswahl beinhaltet Handschriften verschiedener Schweizer Bibliotheken, u.a. der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, der Stiftsbibliothek Einsiedeln, der Bibliothèque de Genève, der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny und der Burgerbibliothek Bern. Das Projekt konzentrierte sich auf drei Arten von Handschriften: Handschriften mit griechischen Texten der griechischen Antike, Handschriften mit mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Übersetzungen griechischer Klassiker und Handschriften mit mittelalterlichen Kommentaren zu Schlüsselwerken der griechischen Antike.

Liste der Handschriften

Fondation Martin Bodmer auf e-codices II



Dauer: Januar - Dezember 2009
Finanziert durchLoterie Romande

Beschreibung: Seit 2007 werden Handschriften der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny durch e-codices digital erschlossen. Die Digitalisierung von weiteren 40 Handschriften wurde 2009 ermöglicht durch die erneute grosszügige Unterstützung der Loterie Romande.

Liste der Handschriften

Virtuelle Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen



Dauer: Januar 2008 - Dezember 2009
Finanziert durchAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung: Bis Ende 2009 wurden über 300 Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, die vor dem Jahr 1000 geschrieben wurden, auf e-codices erschlossen. Auch wurde die Webapplikation weiterentwickelt und dem neusten Stand der Informatik angepasst, womit den Nutzern ein schnellerer und einfacherer Zugriff auf die Webdatenbank ermöglicht wurde.

Liste der Handschriften

Codices Augienses et Sangallenses dispersi



Dauer: Januar 2008 - Dezember 2009
Finanziert durchAndrew W. Mellon Foundation

Beschreibung: Handschriften mittelalterlicher Bibliotheken befinden sich in den meisten Fällen nicht mehr am Ursprungsort. Dies trifft auch auf die Handschriften von St. Gallen und vor allem auf die Handschriften der Reichenau zu. Mittels einer virtuellen Handschriftenbibliothek können verstreute Sammlungen aber wieder virtuell zusammengeführt werden. Im Rahmen dieses Teilprojekts wurde bis Ende 2009 eine Auswahl von Handschriften aus den ehemaligen Klöstern St. Gallen und Reichenau, die heute in verschiedenen schweizerischen Sammlungen aufbewahrt werden, virtuell zusammengeführt.

Liste der Handschriften

Fondation Martin Bodmer auf e-codices I



Dauer: Januar - Dezember 2007
Finanziert durchLoterie Romande

Beschreibung: Seit 2007 werden Handschriften der Fondation Martin Bodmer in Cologny durch e-codices digital erschlossen. Die Digitalisierung von 40 Handschriften wurde 2007 ermöglicht durch die grosszügige Unterstützung der Loterie Romande.

Liste der Handschriften

St. Galler Kulturgüter aus Zürich



Dauer: Januar - Dezember 2007
Finanziert durch: Katholischer Konfessionsteil St. Gallen und Amt für Kultur, St. Gallen

Beschreibung: Im Toggenburgerkrieg von 1712, dem letzten Konfessionskrieg der Alten Eidgenossenschaft, unterlag der Fürstabt von St. Gallen den Orten Zürich und Bern. Die Sieger führten nach ihrem Einmarsch in das Kloster St. Gallen die Bibliothek und weitere Kulturgüter weg und teilten sie untereinander auf. Nach dem Friedensschluss von 1718 wurde ein Teil der Güter wieder zurückgegeben, doch eine Anzahl wertvoller Handschriften verblieb in Zürich. Der deswegen entstandene, einmal stärker, einmal weniger stark schwelende "Kulturgüterstreit" zwischen St. Gallen und Zürich konnte nach fast dreihundert Jahren im Frühling 2006 beigelegt werden. Die Kompromisslösung enthielt unter anderem für den Kanton St. Gallen die Auflage, die als Dauerleihgabe an die Stiftsbibliothek zurückgegeben Handschriften bis Ende 2007 zu digitalisieren und auf dem Internet bereitzustellen.

Liste der Handschriften

Musikhandschriften aus der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen



Dauer: Oktober 2006 - Mai 2007
Finanziert durch: Ernst Göhner Stiftung 

Beschreibung: Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen besitzt unter ihren zahlreichen Schätzen auch die älteste vollständig erhaltene Musikhandschrift (Cod. Sang. 359, um 920/30). Diese und dreizehn weitere Musikhandschriften, darunter auch prachtvolle liturgische Handschriften der "Silbernen Zeit", konnten im zweiten Projektjahr 2006 dank einer grosszügigen Unterstützung der Ernst-Göhner-Stiftung digitalisiert und auf dem Internet bereitgestellt werden.

Liste der Handschriften

St. Galler Schatzkammer althochdeutscher Sprachdenkmäler



Dauer: Januar 2005 – Dezember 2006
Finanziert durchFreundeskreises der Stiftsbibliothek

Beschreibung: Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen wird von Germanisten gerne als "Schatzkammer althochdeutscher Sprachdenkmäler" bezeichnet. Sowohl qualitativ als auch quantitativ ist nirgendwo sonst eine derart grosse Zahl bedeutender Zeugnisse der deutschen Sprache überliefert. Dank der Unterstützung des "Freundeskreises der Stiftsbibliothek" konnten 2006 dreizehn bedeutende althochdeutsche Handschriften digitalisiert werden: Codd. Sang. 21 (Althochdeutscher Psalter Notkers des Deutschen), 56 (Evangelienharmonie des Tatian), 232, 242, 556, 643, 825 (Althochdeutsche Übersetzung und Kommentierung von 'De consolatione philosophiae' des Boethius durch Notker den Deutschen), 872 (Übersetzung und Kommentierung desselben von 'De nuptiis Philologiae et Mercurii' des Martianus Capella), 904 (irische Priscian-Handschrift), 911 (Abrogans), 913, 916 (Regula S. Benedicti), 966.

Liste der Handschriften

Pilotprojekt: Digitale Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen



Dauer: Januar 2005 – Dezember 2006
Finanziert durch: Paul Schiller Stiftung, UBS Kulturstiftung, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Otto Gamma Stiftung, Jubiläumsstiftung der Schweizerischen Mobiliar Genossenschaft, Stiftung des Forschungsfonds der Universität Freiburg, Jubiläumsstiftung der Zürich Versicherungs-Gruppe sowie des Freundeskreises der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen

Beschreibung: Im Rahmen des Pilotprojektes wurde eine Auswahl von mittelalterlichen Handschriften der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen digitalisiert. Das Startprojekt wurde ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung verschiedener Stiftungen.

Liste der Handschriften