Guiding Principles

  1. Manuscripts: Our focus includes all manuscripts from late antiquity, the middle ages and early modernity.
  2. Research Library: Publication of digital manuscripts follows the criteria of scholarly editing and is oriented chiefly towards a scholarly research audience. The research library also serves as a laboratory where specialists can actively participate.
  3. Switzerland: e-codices publishes digital manuscripts from Switzerland on the internet.
  4. Multilingualism: All static pages and basic metadata for all manuscripts are offered in three Swiss national languages (German, French, Italian) and English.
  5. Quality Reproductions: We strive to achieve very high photographic quality according to the principles of scientific research photography.
  6. Quality Metadata and Search Functions: Each manuscript is linked to basic metadata, which can be complemented by one or more scholarly manuscript descriptions. Collaboration with manuscript experts facilitates the creation of new manuscript descriptions. The metadata are integrated into a database set up according to international standards.
  7. Interoperability: We seek to create the most comprehensive network possible and to enable automated sharing of images and metadata using a variety of interfaces.
  8. Manuscript Education: In order to raise public awareness of manuscripts and have them become a public good, our broad program introduces manuscripts to new and diverse interest groups, among them museums, schools, social networks, etc.
  9. Open Access: All digital reproductions and metadata are freely accessible for non-commercial use.

Leitprinzipien

  1. Handschriften: Schwerpunkt sind alle Handschriften der Spätantike, des Mittelalters und Neuzeit.
  2. Forschungsbibliothek: Die Publikation digitaler Handschriften folgt Kriterien der Editionswissenschaft und adressiert sich in erster Linie an ein wissenschaftliches Publikum. Die Forschungsbibliothek dient auch als Laboratorium für die benutzerorientierte Eingabe von Forschungsdaten.
  3. Schweiz: e-codices publiziert digitale Handschriften der Schweiz auf dem Internet.
  4. Mehrsprachigkeit: Alle statischen Seiten und die Basismetadaten zu allen Handschriften werden in drei Landessprachen (Deutsch, Französisch und Italienisch) und Englisch übersetzt.
  5. Qualität der Reproduktionen: Erstrebt wird eine hohe fotografische Qualität nach Grundsätzen der wissenschaftlichen Fotografie.
  6. Qualität der Metadaten und Suchfunktionen: Handschriften werden mit Basismetadaten verknüpft, welche durch eine oder mehrere Handschriftenbeschreibungen ergänzt werden können. Kollaborationen mit Spezialisten ermöglichen neue Handschriftenbeschreibungen. Diese Metadaten werden in eine nach internationalen Standards aufgebaute Datenbank integriert.
  7. Interoperabilität: Erstrebt wird eine möglichst grosse Vernetzung, die einen automatisierten Austausch von Bildern und Metadaten über Schnittstellen erlaubt.
  8. Handschriftenvermittlung: Um Handschriften in der Öffentlichkeit sichtbarer zu machen und zu einem öffentlich Gut werden zu lassen, werden diese durch ein breitgefächertes Programm verschiedensten und neuen Interessengruppen vermittelt, darunter zählen: Museen, Schulen, Soziale Netzwerke, etc.
  9. Open Access: Digitalisate und Metadaten sind für die nicht-kommerzielle Nutzung frei zugänglich.