Documents: 24, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Hebrew Manuscript Library of Switzerland

September 2018

Status: In progress

Financed by: Susanne & René Braginsky Foundation

Project Director: Dr. Justine Isserles

Description: Several hundred Hebrew manuscripts are preserved in Switzerland today in various private and public collections. The Hebrew Manuscript Library in Switzerland project aims to shed light on a selection of medieval and pre-modern Hebrew manuscripts from the cities of Basel, Bern, Geneva, St Gallen and Zurich, chosen to be highlighted predominately for their rarity in content, but also for their codicological, palaeographical and decorative features. The digitization and scholarly descriptions of these manuscripts on e-codices will undoubtedly help to establish the importance of these precious witnesses from Swiss collections, many of which have been unacknowledged until now. This project is generously supported by the Susanne & René Braginsky Foundation

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Parchment · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · Ashkenaz · 2nd half 14th century and 2nd half 15th century
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

This 14th and 15th century Ashkenazi copy of the Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide to the Perplexed) by Moses Maimonides is the Hebrew translation of the work made in 1204 by Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). This copy also includes a preface from the commentary to the Moreh Nevukhim by Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, a 15th century Spanish rabbi and vigorous defender of Aristotelian and Maimonidean philosophy. In the 16th century, this manuscript was owned by Johann Buxtorf II, and used as the base for the latter’s Latin edition of the Doctoris Perplexorum (Basel, 1629). (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IX 4
Parchment · III + 84 + III ff. · 21 x 15.4-16.3 cm · Ashkenaz · 2nd half 15th century
The Basel Nizzaḥon

The Sefer Nizzaḥon Yashan is the name of an anonymous anthology of arguments against the Christological interpretation of biblical verses, supplemented by critique of the Gospels and Christian doctrines and morals. Composed in Franco-Germany circa 1300, most confutations are based on polemical themes and criticisms of Christian faith which were disseminated in Jewish circles in medieval Ashkenaz and northern France. There are few extant editions and manuscripts of this work, one of which is the Basel Nizzaḥon. This manuscript which bears some similarities with the other copies, should nevertheless be considered as an indirect, yet important witness to Jewish apologetic from medieval Franco-Germany. (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 200
Parchment · VII + 258 + XIII ff. · 30 x 22 cm · Ashkenaz · 1290
Lexicographical and scientific miscellany

This medieval Hebrew lexicographical and scientific miscellany dates back to 1290 and encloses three highly important texts, used as the base for published editions and studies. These are: the Maḥberet Menahem by Menahem ben Jacob Ibn Saruq (died c. 970); an anonymous Hebrew prose translation of the very popular Old French version of the lapidary by Marbode of Rennes (12th c.) and lastly, an anonymous abridged version of the talmudic and midrashic lexicon entitled Sefer ha-Arukh by Natan ben Yehiel Anav of Rome (1035-1110), called the Berner Kleiner Arukh. The particularity of this copy is the presence of Old West Yiddish and Old French glosses. Furthermore, among the numerous later notes, there are more significant additions which abound in the blank pages and margins of the manuscript, the most unusual of which is a charm in Middle High German in Hebrew characters, relative to Hulda, a German goddess comparable to Venus, taken from the Tannhäuserlied. Moreover, this manuscript belonged to several famous Jewish and Christians owners, whose scriptural witness testifies to the manuscript’s remarkable stature as a treasured source of knowledge from the time it was compiled at the end of the 13th century, to its possession by Christian Hebraists in Switzerland during the 16th and 17th centuries. (iss)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 359
Parchment · 109 ff. · 24-24.5 x 17.5-18 cm · Italy · 2nd half of the 15th century
Abraham ben Meir ibn Ezra, Sefer ha-Yashar

The Sefer ha-Yashar is one of two Bible commentaries by the great R. Abraham Ibn Ezra (1089/92-1164/67). Written in Lucca, Italy ca. 1142-45, this work attained great recognition and popularity during the Middle Ages and has been preserved in numerous manuscripts and printed books. This 15th century Italian copy is of particular interest since it belonged, at some point during the 16th century, to Theodore de Bèze (1519-1605), the famous Genevan Calvinist theologian and Professor, who then gave it to one of his disciples and colleagues, Antoine Chevalier (1507-1572), the first Professor of Hebrew language at the Académie de Genève. (iss)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 22
Parchment · 1 f. · 305.4 x 32.8 cm · Ashkenaz · c. 1500
Megillat Esther (מגילת אסתר) / Esther Scroll

Early 16th century Esther scroll from Ashkenaz, for private use with intricate floral and animal type ink drawings located over some of the monumental letters in the list of Haman’s sons. (iss)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 69
Parchment and paper · 82 ff. · 15 x 11-11.7 cm · Vienna · 1756 and 18th-19th century
Pesach Haggadah

This handwritten Haggadah Comites Latentes 69 was created in Vienna in 1756. It is decorated with black ink and masterfully imitates copper engraving. The author is the famous scribe and illustrator Simmel ben Moses from Polna (active between 1714 and 1756), who produced about thirty dated manuscripts that have survived until today, of which, however, only 17, including CL 69, are autographs. His works of art are among the most remarkable examples of Hebrew manuscript decoration in 18th century Central Europe. The Song of Solomon, copied by later hands, concludes this magnificent manuscript. (iss)

Online Since: 06/22/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 173
Paper · VI + 173 + VI ff. · 21.7-21.9 x 15-15.5 cm · Velletri · between 1565 and 1599
Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim

This legal manuscript with the title Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim is part of a vernacular literary genre for women that was widely read in Ashkenazic and Italian communities since the Renaissance. This manual of prescriptions in Judeo-Italian is said to have been copied by the famous Italian kabbalist and preacher Mordechai ben Juda Dato during the second half of the 16th century. (iss)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 278
Paper · III + 1 + II f. · 25.7 x 17-18 cm · 12th century
Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub

This rare Judeo-Arabic fragment is from the Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub (Guide to the Duties of the Heart ) by Baḥya ben Joseph Ibn Paquda (2nd half of the 11th century). This work is of fundamental importance since it sets out the first Jewish system of ethics. The manuscript tradition of this Judeo-Arabic work is quite fragmentary because few textual witnesses remain today. (iss)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 1
Parchment · I + 429 + II ff. · 27.8-28 x 20-20.5 cm‎ · Sephardic · 13th century
Massoretic Bible (Pentateuch, Prophets and Hagiographs)

This immaculately preserved Sephardic 13th century massoretic Bible was employed as a study manual for learning the cantillation notes for the Torah readings. The significance of this massoretic bible lies however within its provenance, where it must have arrived in Italy sometime in the mid-15th century and acquired by Solomon Finzi, a famous Jewish banker from Mantua, who owned a large library of Hebrew manuscripts. Lastly, a letter inserted at the beginning of the manuscript testifies to the use of this bible as one of the 615 biblical manuscripts collated for Benjamin Kennicott’s Vetus Testamentum hebraicum variis lectionibus (1776-1780). (iss)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 3
Parchment · I + 131 + I ff. · 21.5 x 14.5 cm · Northern France · mid-13th century
Hebrew Bible (Pentateuch and Book of Esther)

This medium format bible from northern France arrived at the Bibliothèque de Genève between 1667 and 1701 and is one of the oldest donations to this library, once called the Académie de Genève. Furthermore, this bible was also used as one of the 615 biblical manuscripts collated for Benjamin Kennicott’s Vetus Testamentum hebraicum variis lectionibus (1776-1780). (iss)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 4
Parchment · 1 f. · 208.3 x 13.5 cm · Amsterdam · around 1641
Megillat Ester (מגילת אסתר) / Esther Scroll

This Megillat Esther consists of thirty round text medallions, surrounded by multicolored engraved decorations with floral, animal and baroque architectural designs. It is a sixth, not yet listed, scroll with the motif “lion, lamb and bear,” produced by the famous engraver Shalom Italia (ca. 1619-1664). He is also the creator of numerous other engraved Esther scrolls that are held in special collections, museums and libraries throughout the world. (iss)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 10
Parchment and paper · I + 118 + I ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · Sephardic · 14th century
Composite manuscript of arithmetical, astronomical and ethical texts

This manuscript consists of four texts: an anonymous treatise on arithmetic and astronomy, an anonymous commentary on the Sefer ha-Mispar by R. Abraham Ibn Ezra (ca. 1092-1167), the treatise She'elot Tiviot (Problemata Physica) attributed to Pseudo-Aristotle, and the ethical and didactic poem Musar Haskel by R. Hai ben Sherira Gaon (ca. 939-1038). The She'elot Tiviot, translated from Arabic into Hebrew by Moïse Ibn Tibbon (died ca. 1283), are especially important since Ms. heb. 10 contains a version in four chapters. Of a total of seven known surviving manuscripts in the entire world containing the She'elot Tiviot, only three other manuscripts comprise these four chapters. (iss)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 12
Parchment and paper · II + 103 + III ff. · 21.4 x 14.8-15 cm · Sephardic · end of the 13th - beginning of the 14th century
Logica Aben Resched

This manuscript contains an anonymous Hebrew paraphrase of the first five books of Averroes' (Abu al Walid Muhammed Ibn Rushd, c.1126-1198) Commentaire Moyen (middle commentary) on the Organon attributed to Aristotle. From the 13th century on, Hebrew paraphrases and compilations of certain books of the Organon were written by intellectual Jews from Provence, such as Jacob Anatolio Abba Mari (ca. 1194-1256); more than fifty manuscripts of this work of his have survived. The anonymous paraphrase found in the Bibliothèque de Genève’s Ms. heb.12 is part of the same series. (iss)

Online Since: 10/13/2016

Preview Page
Genève, La Bibliothèque juive « Gérard Nordmann », HEB 0002
Paper · I + 186 + VI ff. · 20.7 x 17.3 cm · 18th century
Astronomical and geographical work

In all the world, only six manuscript exemplars and an old print of this work (1743) still exist. Its author is the famous Bohemian rabbi, astronomer and mathematician R. David ben Salomon Gans (1541-1613), student of Maharal of Prague, R. Judah Loew (1525-1609) and of Rema, R. Moses Isserles (1520-1572). In his 1974 monograph about David Gans, André Neher referred to this copy as the Manuscrit de Genève. A colophon in the manuscript gives the date as 1613, but a current study about the history of the transmission of this work suggests that it is an 18th century copy. (iss)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 326
Parchment · IV + 134 + IV ff. · 12.3-12.5 x 9-9.5 cm · Italy · 14th century
Mahzor according to the Roman rite

This small mahzor according to the Roman rite was written in Italy during the 14th century. It contains a first section with abridged prayers for the festivals of the Jewish liturgical year (Pessah, Shavuot, Rosh ha-Shanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, Shemini Atseret) and a second section, enclosing many liturgical poems accompanying the prayers. This prayer ritual was not only written for personal use, due to its size, but may have also been destined for a woman, since a word, found in the vidui (confession), situated in the manuscript at the end of the Yom Kippur afternoon prayers, ends with a feminine suffix. (iss)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum, Cod. 9
Parchment and paper · 132 ff. · 9.5 x 7 cm · Italy · 14th century
Collection of laws about ritual slaughter and about dietary laws (Hilkhot Shekhitah and Treifah)

This small-format handbook about ritual slaughter is from 14th century Italy. It contains the laws of shekhitah (ritual slaughter) and of treifot (possbile defects of kosher animals) by Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anaw from Rome (13th century). This is followed by excerpts of laws about shekhitah from the Torat ha-Bayit ha-Arokh, a legal work about the laws governing Jewish households by Salomon ben Abraham ben Adret from Barcelona (1235-1310). (iss)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Car. C 126
Parchment · I +167 ff. · 23 x 17.8 cm · Sepharad (Catalonia ?) · 1292
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

This elegant illuminated copy of the Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Guide to the Perplexed) by Moses Maimonides was produced in Christian Spain in 1292. It is a copy of the Hebrew translation of the work made in 1204 by Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230). The manuscript arrived in Italy either after the Jewish persecutions of 1391 or the ensuing expulsion of the Jews from the Iberian peninsula in 1492. It was in the possession of the renowned Bolognese Sforno family before reappearing in the early 17th century in the hands of the Italian Jewish apostate and inquisitor Renato da Modena. After more than a century, the manuscript reappeared in the possession of Johann Caspar Ulrich (1705-1768) a Protestant theologian, who donated it in 1762 to the Bibliotheca Ecclesia Carolina, the chapter library of the reformed Grossmünster church of Zurich. In 1835, when the chapter was dissolved, the books and manuscripts of the chapter library became part of the new Cantonal Library in Zurich. Finally in 1917, the holdings of this library, among others, formed the new Zentralbibliothek, where the manuscript still remains today. (iss)

Online Since: 03/19/2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 30
Parchment · V + 104 + V ff. · 30-30.4 x 22-22.6 cm · Byzantium · 14th century
R. David ben Joseph Kimhi, Sefer ha-Shorashim

The Sefer ha-Shorashim by R. David ben Joseph Kimhi (1160-1235) is extant in numerous medieval Hebrew manuscripts and fragments of diverse origins (Sephardi, Italian, Ashkenazi, Provençal), several printed editions and Latin translations, all testifying to the incomparable popularity of the work throughout the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. However, the great significance of the Sefer ha-Shorashim of the Zentralbibliothek, dated to the 14th century, lies within the fact that it is the only preserved copy of Byzantine origin known today. (iss)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 41
Parchment · II + 89 + II‎ ff. · ‎17-17.4 x 12.5 cm · Italy · end-13th to early 14th century
Manual on ritual slaughter and dietary laws (Hilkhot Shekhitah and Treifah)

This Italian manuscript is a manual containing the laws of ritual slaughter (Shekhitah) and forbidden foods (Treifah), taken from the Babylonian Talmud tractate Ḥulin. These laws have been commented on by two medieval rabbinical authorities, included in the manuscript. The first is Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anav of Rome (Rivevan, d. after 1280), whose commentary to the laws makes reference to customs practiced by the Jewish community of Rome, such as an important ruling taken by the elders of Rome in 1280 at the Bozzechi Synagogue, which has been edited in the description. The second author, whose work is partially copied in the manual, is the leading Talmud authority for the Jewish communities in 11th century North Africa and Spain, Isaac ben Jacob Alfasi (Rif, 1013-1103). The first three chapters of a commentary on the Babylonian Talmud tractate Ḥulin, taken from his magnum opus entitled the  Sefer ha-Halakhot, have been copied into this manual. This latter work played a fundamental role in the development of halakha and is the most important legal code prior to the Mishneh Torah by Maimonides (Rambam, 1135-1204). (iss)

Online Since: 10/10/2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 51
Parchment · III + 209 + III ff. · 23.6-24 x 16-16.5 cm; 21.3-21.4 x 14-14.4 cm · Ashkenaz · end-14th to mid-15th century
Halakhic and calendrical Miscellany

This 14th and 15th century Askhenazi miscellany is a vademecum for personal use, destined to a scholar and composed mainly of halakhic material on ritual slaughtering, reflecting the decisions of the most important rabbinical authorities from 13th to 15th century Ashkenaz. There are also numerous treatises and tables on the Jewish and Christian calendars scattered throughout the manuscript. In addition, there is a selection of liturgical and mystical commentaries, as well as excerpts of ethical, Midrashic and Talmudic literature. The margins of the manuscript are filled with small notes and texts on medical recipes and magical incantations for various occasions in Hebrew and in Old West Yiddish. (iss)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Documents: 24, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 24, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Hebräische Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz

September 2018

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: Susanne & René Braginsky Stiftung

Projektleitung: Dr. Justine Isserles

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Schweizweit werden heute mehrere hundert hebräische Handschriften in verschiedenen privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen aufbewahrt. Das Projekt Hebräische Handschriftenbibliothek der Schweiz bemüht sich darum, Licht auf eine Auswahl mittelalterlicher und vormoderner hebräischer Handschriften aus Basel, Bern, Genf, St. Gallen und Zürich zu werfen, die hauptsächlich aufgrund ihres seltenen Inhalts, aber auch aufgrund ihrer kodikologischen, paläographischen und dekorativen Eigenschaften ausgewählt wurden. Die Digitalisierung sowie die wissenschaftlichen Beschreibungen dieser Handschriften auf e-codices werden zweifellos dazu beitragen, die Bedeutung dieser wertvollen, bis anhin unbekannten Textzeugen aus Schweizer Sammlungen zu unterstreichen. Dieses Projekt wird von der Susanne & René Braginsky Stiftung grosszügig unterstützt.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A IV 37
Pergament · I + 197+ II ff. · 24.3-24.5 x 17.5-17.8 cm · Aschkenas · 2. Hälfte des 14. und 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

Bei dieser aschkenasischen Kopie des Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Führer der Unschlüssigen) von Moses Maimonides aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert handelt es sich um die hebräische Übersetzung, die 1204 von Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230) angefertigt wurde. Sie enthält ebenfalls ein Vorwort des Kommentars des Moreh Nevukhim von Shem Tov ben Joseph ben Shem Tov, einem spanischen Rabbiner des 15. Jahrhunderts, der ein eifriger Verfechter der Philosophie des Aristoteles und des Maimonides war. Im 15. Jahrhundert befand sich die Handschrift im Besitz des Johannes Buxtorf II, wobei letzterer sie für die lateinische Edition des Doctoris Perplexorum (Basel, 1629) benutzte. (iss)

Online seit: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, AN IX 4
Pergament · III + 84 + III ff. · 21 x 15.4-16.3 cm · Aschkenas · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Nizzaḥon von Basel

Sefer Nizzaḥon Yashan ist der Name einer anonymen Anthologie von Argumenten gegen die christologische Interpretation biblischer Verse, ergänzt mit einer Kritik der Evangelien und der christlichen Moral und Doktrinen. Sie wurde gegen 1300 in Deutschland oder Frankreich zusammengestellt, wie an einem Grossteil der Refutationen gesehen werden kann, die auf polemische, und dem christlichen Glauben gegenüber kritischen Themen basiert sind, die in den jüdischen Kreisen des mittelalterlichen Aschkenas und Nordfrankreichs verbreitet waren. Von diesem Werk sind nur wenige vollständige Editionen oder Handschriften erhalten, wovon eines der Nizzaḥon von Basel ist. Diese Handschrift zeigt zwar gewisse Ähnlichkeiten mit anderen Kopien auf, muss aber dennoch als ein indirekter, für die jüdische Apologetik der franko-deutschen Region wichtiger Textzeuge angesehen werden. (iss)

Online seit: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 200
Pergament · VII + 258 + XIII ff. · 30 x 22 cm · Aschkenas · 1290
Lexikographischer und wissenschaftlicher Sammelband

Dieser lexikographische und wissenschaftliche Sammelband aus dem Mittelalter, in Hebräisch geschrieben und auf das Jahr 1290 datiert, enthält drei äusserst wichtige Texte, die als Basis für publizierte Editionen und Studien benutzt wurden. Es handelt sich um: Maḥberet Menahem von Menachem ben Jacob Ibn Saruq (gest. gegen 970); eine anonyme Prosaübersetzung auf Hebräisch der beliebten altfranzösischen Version des liber lapidum von Marbod von Rennes (12. Jahrhundert); und schliesslich eine anonyme, abgekürzte Version des Talmudlexikons und Midrasch mit dem Titel Sefer ha-Arukh von Natan ben Jechiel (1035-1110), auch genannt Berner Kleiner Arukh. Die Eigenheit dieser Kopie besteht in den sich darin befindlichen alt-westjiddischen und alt-französischen Glossen. Ausserdem finden sich zwischen den zahlreichen späteren Notizen bedeutsame Zusätze auf den leeren Seiten und den Seitenrändern. Am überraschendsten ist ein in hebräischen Buchstaben geschriebener mittelhochdeutscher Zauber, der sich auf Hulda bezieht, eine mit der Venus vergleichbare germanische Göttin, die aus dem Tannhäuserlied stammt. Diese Handschrift gehörte mehreren berühmten jüdischen oder christlichen Besitzern, deren Notizen ihre Bedeutung als wertvolle Wissensquelle zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Zusammenstellung Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts bis zu ihrem Besitz durch christliche Hebraisten in der Schweiz im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert belegen. (iss)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 359
Pergament · 109 ff. · 24-24.5 x 17.5-18 cm · Italien · 2. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Abraham ben Meir ibn Ezra, Sefer ha-Yashar

Das Sefer ha-Yashar ist einer der zwei Bibelkommentare des grossen R. Abraham Ibn Ezra (1089/92-1164/67). Das in Lucca (Italien) gegen 1142-45 geschriebene Werk erlangte im Mittelalter grosse Anerkennung und Popularität und blieb in zahlreichen Handschriften und Drucken erhalten. Diese italienische Kopie aus dem 15. Jahrhundert ist von besonderem Interesse, da sie während dem 16. Jahrhundert einmal dem berühmten calvinistischen Theologen und Genfer Professor Théodore de Bèze (1519-1605) gehörte, der sie anschliessend einem seiner Schüler und Kollegen vermachte, Antoine Chevalier (1507-1572), erster Professor für Hebräisch an der Académie de Genève. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 22
Pergament · 1 f. · 305.4 x 32.8 cm · Aschkenasisch · gegen 1500
Megillat Esther (מגילת אסתר) / Esther Rolle

Esther Rolle mit aschkenasischem Ursprung aus dem frühen 16. Jahrhundert, zum privaten Gebrauch. Mit Tintenzeichnungen von Tieren und kunstvollen Blumen, die auf den monumentalen Buchstaben in der Liste der Söhne Hamans stehen. (iss)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 69
Pergament und Papier · 82 ff. · 15 x 11-11.7 cm · Wien · 1756 und 18.-19. Jahrhundert
Pessach Haggada

Die handgeschriebene Haggada Comites Latentes 69 wurde 1756 in Wien geschaffen. Sie ist mit schwarzer Tinte verziert und imitiert meisterhaft den Kupferstich. Autor ist der berühmte Schreiber und Illustrator Simmel ben Moses aus Polna (aktiv zwischen 1714 und 1756), der gegen dreissig datierte und heute erhaltene Handschriften produzierte, wovon jedoch nur 17, inklusive CL 69, Autographe sind. Seine Kunstwerke gehören zu den bemerkenswertesten Beispielen der Dekoration hebräischer Handschriften im Zentraleuropa des 18. Jahrhunderts. Das Hohelied Salomons, von späteren Händen kopiert, bildet den Abschluss dieser grossartigen Handschrift. (iss)

Online seit: 22.06.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 173
Papier · VI + 173 + VI ff. · 21.7-21.9 x 15-15.5 cm · Velletri · zwischen 1565 und 1599
Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim

Diese juristische Handschrift mit dem Titel Sefer Ḥokhmat Nashim gehört zu einer volkssprachlichen Literaturgattung für Frauen, die in den aschkenasischen und italienischen Gemeinden seit der Renaissance sehr verbreitet war. Das Handbuch mit Vorschriften in Judäo-Italienisch soll von dem berühmten italienischen Kabbalisten und Prediger Mordechai ben Juda Dato während der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts abgeschrieben worden sein. (iss)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Comites Latentes 278
Papier · III + 1 + II f. · 25.7 x 17-18 cm · 12. Jahrhundert
Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub

Dieses seltene, Judäo-Arabische Fragment stammt aus dem Kitab al-Hidaya ila Faraiḍ al-Qulub (Lehrbuch der Herzenspflichten) von Baḥya ben Joseph Ibn Paquda (2. Hälfte des 11. Jahrhunderts). Das Werk ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, da es das erste jüdische Ethik-System festlegt. Die handschriftliche Überlieferung dieses Judäo-Arabischen Werkes ist sehr lückenhaft, da heute nur mehr wenige Textzeugen vorhanden sind. (iss)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 1
Pergament · I + 429 + II ff. · 27.8-28 x 20-20.5 cm‎ · Sephardisch · 13. Jahrhundert
Masoretische Bibel (Pentateuch, Propheten und Hagiographen)

Diese perfekt erhaltene, masoretische und sephardische Bibel aus dem 13. Jahrhundert wurde als Studienhandbuch benutzt, um die Kantillation bei der Lesung der Tora zu lernen. Die Bedeutung der Handschrift liegt jedoch in ihrer Herkunft. Sie scheint Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts in Italien angekommen zu sein, gekauft von Solomon Finzi, einem berühmten jüdischen Bankier aus Mantua, der eine bedeutende Bibliothek hebräischer Handschriften besass. Ein Brief, der am Anfang der Handschrift eingefügt wurde, bestätigt, dass diese Bibel zu den 615 Bibelhandschriften gehörte, die für die Kollationierung des Vetus Testamentum hebraicum variis lectionibus (1766-1780) von Benjamin Kennicott benutzt wurden. (iss)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 3
Pergament · I + 131 + I ff. · 21.5 x 14.5 cm · Nordfrankreich · Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts
Hebräische Bibel (Pentateuch und Buch Ester)

Die mittelformatige Bibel kam zwischen 1667 und 1701 in die Bibliothèque de Genève und ist eine der ältesten Schenkungen an diese Bibliothek, die früher als Genfer Akademie bekannt war. Ausserdem wurde diese Bibel als eine der 615 biblischen Handschriften verwendet, die für Benjamin Kennicotts (1776-1780) Vetus testamentum hebraicum variis lectionibus zusammengestellt wurden. (iss)

Online seit: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 4
Pergament · 1 f. · 208.3 x 13.5 cm · Amsterdam · gegen 1641
Megilla Ester (מגילת אסתר) / Esther-Rolle

Diese Megilla Esther besteht aus dreissig runden Textmedaillons, die von gravierten und mehrfarbigen Dekorationen mit Blumen-, Tier- und barockalen Architekturmotiven umgeben sind. Es handelt sich um eine sechste, bisher nicht repertorisierte Rolle, mit den Motiven „Löwe, Lamm und Bär“, des berühmten Graveur Shalom Italia (ca. 1619-1664). Dieser ist auch der Hersteller von zahlreichen anderen gravierten Esther-Rollen, die in Spezialsammlungen, Museen und Bibliotheken auf der ganzen Welt aufbewahrt werden. (iss)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 10
Pergament und Papier · I + 118 + I ff. · 21.5 x 16 cm · sephardisch · 14. Jahrhundert
Arithmetischer, astronomischer und ethischer Sammelband

Diese Handschrift besteht aus vier Texten: aus einer anonymen, arithmetischen und astronomischen Abhandlung, aus einem anonymem Kommentar über den Sefer ha-Mispar von R. Abraham Ibn Ezra (ca. 1092-1167), aus der Abhandlung She'elot Tiviot (Problemata Physica), die Pseudo-Aristoteles zugeschrieben wird, und aus dem ethischen und didaktischen Gedicht Musar Haskel von R. Hai ben Sherira Gaon (ca. 939-1038). Das She'elot Tiviot, von Moïse Ibn Tibbon (gest. ca. 1283) aus dem Arabischen in das Hebräische übersetzt, ist besonders wichtig, da die Ms. heb. 10 eine Version in vier Kapiteln enthält. Aus einer Gesamtheit von sieben bekannten und bewahrten Handschriften auf der ganzen Welt, die das She'elot Tiviot enthalten, gibt es nur drei weitere Handschriften, die diese vier Kapitel umfassen. (iss)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Genève, Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. heb. 12
Pergament und Papier · II + 103 + III ff. · 21.4 x 14.8-15 cm · sephardisch · Ende 13. - Anfang 14. Jahrhundert
Logica Aben Resched

Diese Handschrift enthält eine anonyme hebräische Paraphrase der ersten fünf Bücher des Mittleren Kommentars von Averroës (Abu al Walid Muhammad Ibn Rushd, ca. 1126-1198) über die Logica vetus, einschliesslich der Analytica posteriora. Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert verfassten intellektuelle Juden aus der Provence hebräische Paraphrasen und Kompilationen von bestimmten Büchern des Organon, wie etwa Jacob Anatolio Abba Mari (ca. 1194-1256), von dem mehr als fünfzig Handschriften dieses Werkes erhalten sind. Die anonyme Paraphrase, die man in der Ms. heb. 12 der Bibliothèque de Genève findet, gehört zu derselben Reihe. (iss)

Online seit: 13.10.2016

Preview Page
Genève, La Bibliothèque juive « Gérard Nordmann », HEB 0002
Papier · I + 186 + VI ff. · 20.7 x 17.3 cm · 18. Jahrhundert
Astronomisches und geographisches Werk

Von diesem Werk sind weltweit nur noch sechs andere handschriftliche Exemplare sowie ein Druck von 1743 vorhanden. Sein Autor ist der berühmte böhmische Rabbi, Astronom und Mathematiker R. David ben Salomon Gans (1541-1613), Schüler des Maharal von Prag, R. Judah Löw (1525-1609) und des Rema, R. Moses Isserles (1520-1572). Diese Kopie wurde von André Neher 1974 in seiner Monographie über David Gans das Manuscrit de Genève genannt. Ein Kolophon in der Handschrift gibt als Datierung 1613 an, doch eine aktuelle Studie über die Geschichte der Textüberlieferung dieses Werkes deutet an, dass es sich um eine Kopie aus dem 18. Jahrhundert handelt. (iss)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
St. Gallen, Kantonsbibliothek, Vadianische Sammlung, VadSlg Ms. 326
Pergament · IV + 134 + IV ff. · 12.3-12.5 x 9-9.5 cm · Italien · 14. Jahrhundert
Mahzor gemäss dem römischen Ritus

Dieses kleine mahzor gemäss dem römischen Ritus wurde in Italien während dem 14. Jahrhundert kopiert. Der erste Teil enthält abgekürzte Gebete für die Festtage des jüdischen liturgischen Jahres (Pessah, Shavuot, Rosh ha-Shanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot, Shemini Atseret), der zweite Teil enthält zahlreiche liturgische Gedichte zu den Gebeten. Die Dimensionen dieses Gebetsrituale scheinen auf einen persönlichen Gebrauch hinzuweisen, möglicherweise auf eine Frau als Besitzerin, da ein Begriff, der sich in der vidui (Beichte) am Ende der Nachmittagsgebete an Yom Kippur findet, mit einem femininen Suffix beendet wird. (iss)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Utopia, armarium codicum bibliophilorum, Cod. 9
Pergament und Papier · 132 ff. · 9.5 x 7 cm · Italien · 14. Jahrhundert
Gesetzessammlung über das Schächten und über verbotene Speisen (Hilkhot Shekhitah und Treifah)

Dieses kleinformatige Handbuch über das rituelle Schlachten stammt aus dem Italien des 14. Jahrhundert. Es enthält die Gesetze des shekhitah (Schächten) und des  treifot (mögliche Makel bei koscheren Tieren), von Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anaw aus Rom (13. Jh.). Es folgen Gesetzesauszüge über die shekhitah aus dem Torat ha-Bayit ha-Arokh, einem rechtlichen Werk über die Gesetze des jüdischen Haushalts von Salomon ben Abraham ben Adret aus Barcelona (1235-1310). (iss)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Car. C 126
Pergament · I +167 ff. · 23 x 17.8 cm · Sephardisch (Katalonien?) · 1292
Moses Maimonides, Sefer Moreh Nevukhim

Diese elegante, illuminierte Kopie des Sefer Moreh Nevukhim (Führer der Unschlüssigen) von Moses Maimonides (1135-1204) wurde 1292 im christlichen Spanien hergestellt. Es handelt sich um eine Kopie der hebräischen Übersetzung, die 1204 von Samuel ben Judah Ibn Tibbon (1150-1230) angefertigt wurde. Die Handschrift gelangte entweder nach den Judenverfolgungen 1391 oder nach ihrer Vertreibung von der iberischen Halbinsel 1492 nach Spanien. Sie gehörte der berühmten Familie Sforno aus Bologna, ehe sie im 17. Jahrhundert im Besitz des italienischen jüdischen Apostaten und Inquisitors Renato da Modena wieder erschien. Nach mehr als einem Jahrhundert befand sie sich in den Händen des protestantischen Theologen Johann Caspar Ulrich (1705-1768), der sie 1762 an die Bibliotheca Ecclesia Carolina, die Stiftsbibliothek der reformierten Kirche des Grossmünsters Zürich verschenkte. Im Jahre 1835, als das Stift aufgehoben wurde, bildeten die Bücher und Handschriften seiner Bibliothek zusammen mit anderen Beständen die neue Zentralbibliothek, wo die Handschrift noch heute aufbewahrt wird. (iss)

Online seit: 19.03.2020

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 30
Pergament · V + 104 + V ff. · 30-30.4 x 22-22.6 cm · Byzanz · 14. Jahrhundert
R. David ben Joseph Kimhi, Sefer ha-Shorashim

Das Sefer ha-Shorashim von R. David ben Joseph Kimhi (1160-1235) ist in zahlreichen mittelalterlichen hebräischen Manuskripten und Fragmenten unterschiedlicher Herkunft (sephardisch, italienisch, aschkenasisch, provenzalisch), mehreren Druckausgaben und lateinischen Übersetzungen erhalten, die alle von der unvergleichlichen Popularität des Werkes im gesamten Mittelalter und der Renaissance zeugen. Die große Bedeutung des Sefer ha-Shorashim der Zentralbibliothek, datiert auf das 14. Jahrhundert, liegt jedoch darin, dass es die einzige heute bekannte erhaltene Kopie byzantinischer Herkunft ist. (iss)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 41
Pergament · II + 89 + II‎ ff. · ‎17-17.4 x 12.5 cm · Italien · Ende des 13. - Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts
Gesetzessammlung über das Schächten und über verbotene Speisen (Hilkhot Shekhitah und Treifah)

Diese italienische Handschrift ist ein Handbuch, das die dem babylonischen Talmud-Traktat Ḥulin entnommenen Gesetze über die rituelle Schlachtung (Shekhitah) und über die unkoscheren Speisen (Treifah) enthält. Mitenthalten in der Handschrift sind die Kommentare über die Gesetze zweier mittelalterlicher rabbinischer Autoritäten. Der erste ist Judah ben Benjamin ha-Rofe Anav von Rom (Rivevan, gest. nach 1280), dessen Kommentar über die Gesetze auf die Bräuche der jüdischen Gemeinschaft Roms verweist, wie z. B. auf ein wichtiges Urteil der Ältesten Roms von 1280 in der Synagoge von Bozzechi, das in dieser Beschreibung ediert ist. Der zweite Autor, dessen Werk teilweise in das Handbuch übernommen wurde, war die führende Talmudautorität für die jüdischen Gemeinden in Nordafrika und Spanien im 11. Jahrhundert, Isaac ben Jacob Alfasi (Rif, 1013-1103). Die ersten drei Kapitel eines Kommentars über das babylonische Talmud-Traktat Ḥulin, entnommen aus seinem magnum opus mit dem Titel Sefer ha-Halakhot, wurden in dieses Handbuch kopiert. Letzteres Werk spielte eine grundlegende Rolle bei der Entwicklung von Halacha und ist das wichtigste Rechtssystem vor der Mishneh Torah von Maimonides (Rambam, 1135-1204). (iss)

Online seit: 10.10.2019

Preview Page
Zürich, Zentralbibliothek, Ms. Heid. 51
Pergament · III + 209 + III ff. · 23.6-24 x 16-16.5 cm; 21.3-21.4 x 14-14.4 cm · Aschkenas · Ende des 14. Jahrhunderts – Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts
Sammelband mit halachischen und kalendarischen Texten

Diese Textsammlung aus dem 14. und 15. Jahrhundert ist ein vademecum für den persönlichen Gebrauch eines Studenten. Es besteht hauptsächlich aus halachischem Material über die rituelle Schlachtung und widerspiegelt die Entscheidungen der wichtigsten rabbinischen Autoritäten aus dem Aschkenas des 13. bis 15. Jahrhunderts. Verstreut über die gesamte Handschrift finden sich auch zahlreiche Traktate und Tabellen über die jüdischen und christlichen Kalender. Sie enthält ausserdem eine Auswahl von liturgischen und mystischen Kommentaren sowie Auszüge aus ethischer, midraschischer und talmudischer Literatur. Die Ränder der Handschrift sind gefüllt mit kleinen Notizen, medizinischen Rezepten und magischen Beschwörungen für verschiedene Anlässe, geschrieben in Hebräisch oder altem Westjiddisch. (iss)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Dokumente: 24, angezeigt: 1 - 20