Documents: 33, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Start: March 2018

Status: In progress

Financed by: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Description: Together with the Burgerbibliothek Bern, we have facilitated the digitization of approximately 150 fragments of parchment. Most of these are from the collection of Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), who had a philological interest in rare texts, as did Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) and especially Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), with whom Bongars was closely associated. Jacques Bongars and Pierre Daniel are among the earliest scholars to have shown an interest in fragments. The Bernese fragment collection is unique because it contains not only manuscript waste, but also a large number of manuscripts that have been transmitted in incomplete form, for example, with only a single quire or a part thereof to have survived. In the course of making these texts accessible through e-codices, many fragments were identified for the first time. Most of these were known texts or authors, but some spectacular new discoveries were made of previously unknown texts on biblical exegesis from the Carolingian epoch. In the coming years, the collection will be published in parallel in e-codices and in Fragmentarium.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
[sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina)
Parchment · 18 ff. · 15.5-46 x 10.5-33.5 · France: Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible, written in Tours in the early 9th century; from the Dominican Monastery of Bern; around 1495 the remnants were used as pastedowns for various incunables by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volumes by various paths reached the Municipal Library of Bern and various libraries in Solothurn. Around 1945, the fragments BBB Cod. 756.59 (1 leaf), Cod. 756.70 (8 leaves and 1 strip) as well as Cod. 756.71 (2 leaves) were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt; today they can be found in the Burgerbibliothek Bern (BBB). Also in situ, i.e., in incunables from the University Library Bern (MUE), is a further leaf (MUE Inc. I.20) or smaller fragments (MUE Inc. IV.77). In addition, the Central Library of Solothurn holds: Cod. S 458 (pastedowns) as well as S II 151 (detached fragments). (mit/hol)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.1
Parchment · 6 ff. · 21 x 13.5 cm · Bavaria or Austria · 2nd half of the 12th century / 1st half of the 13th century
Glossary of plants, Summarium Heinrici (fragment)

Remnants of a manuscript of the Summarium Heinrici as well as of the glossary of plants appended thereto, with interlinear glosses in German. Prior to 1875, Hermann Hagen detached them from three book bindings from the Stadtbibliothek of Bern. Other parts are located in the Zentralbibliothek of Zurich and the Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek of Bonn. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.2
Parchment · 1 f. · 28 x 18 cm · Germany? · 11th century
Solinus, Gaius Julius: Collectanea rerum memorabilium (fragment)

Folium from a manuscript of the Collectanea rerum memorabilium by Gaius Julius Solinus; it contains parts of the Descriptio Indiae. Prior to 1875, Hermann Hagen detached it from a host volume from the Stadtbibliothek of Bern. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.3
Parchment · 2 ff. · 21.5 x 17.5 cm · Fulda · second quarter of the 9th century
Cetius Faventinus: Artis architectonicae privatis usibus adbreviatus liber (fragment)

Fragment of a manuscript that originated in Fulda around the second quarter of the 9th century, containing Cetius Faventinus’ (late 3rd/early 4th century) extracts from Vitruvius’ De Architectura. It cannot be determined when the codex left Fulda. Two Fulda library catalogs from the beginning and the middle of the 16th century still list a Faventinus manuscript. (stb)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.4
Parchment · 2 ff. · 19 x 17.5 cm · Germany? · 12th / 13th century
Constantinus Africanus: Viaticus (fragment)

Bifolium from a manuscript of the Viaticus by Constantinus Africanus, from a handbook for traveling doctors, translated from Arabic. Prior to 1875, Hermann Hagen detached it from a host volume from the Stadtbibliothek of Bern. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.40
Parchment · 2 ff. · 19 x 14.5 / 18 x 13.5 cm · Southern Germany · end of the 13th / 14th century
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Willehalm

Remnants of a manuscript of the Willehalm by Wolfram von Eschenbach. In August 1928, Hans Bloesch detached it from codex Mss.h.h.XIV.144. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.59
Parchment · 1 f. · 46 x 32 cm · France, Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volume (MUE Inc I 85) became the property of Eberhard Rümlang (ca. 1500–1551) and Wolfgang Musculus (= Müslin, 1497–1563), who donated the volume to the Bern library in 1556. Around 1945, the fragments were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt. Reunification of the fragments : [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.64
Parchment · 4 ff. · 24.5-26.5 x 19.5-21 cm · 2nd half of the 9th century / 1st half of the 10th century
Priscian: Institutiones grammaticae (fragment)

Fragment of a manuscript of the Institutiones grammaticae by Priscian, probably from the South of Germany; 10 more leaves from this manuscript can be found in Paris BN lat. 10403. f. 615. These four single leaves, inserted into a printed version owned by Jacques Bongars, came to Bern in 1632, where they were detached from their host volume in the 20th century. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.66
Parchment · 3 ff. · 17.5 x 26.5; 19 x 38; 17 x 14.5 cm · 1538-1569
Manuscript waste from Cod. 120

These three documents are from the previous binding of Cod. 120 (now 120-1 and 120-2), from which they were removed during restoration. They are two documents from the imperial court of the tribunal of the Counts of Sulz in Rottweil (no. 1 and 3) and a fragment of a bill of sale issued in Strasbourg. (mit)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.70
Parchment · 9 ff. · 33-34 x 25.5-26.5 cm · France: Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volumes (MUE Inc. III.15, Vol. 3–4; the strip of Cod. 756.70e is from MUE Inc. I.6), perhaps as part of a bequest of books by the Venner [standard bearer] Jürg Schöni in 1534, became part of the Bern library. Around 1945, the fragments were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.71
Parchment · 2 ff. · 26.5 x 33.5/31.5 cm · France, Tours · early 9th century
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (fragment)

Remnants of an Alcuin's Bible from the Dominican Monastery of Bern, which were used around 1495 by the bookbinder Johannes Vatter as pastedowns for various incunables that are currently held in Bern and Solothurn. After the secularization of the monastery in 1528, the host volume (MUE Inc. III.15, Vol. 1) perhaps as part of a bequest of books by the Venner [standard bearer] Jürg Schöni in 1534, became part of the Bern library. Around 1945, the fragments were removed from the host volumes by Johannes Lindt. Reunification of the fragments: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.72
Parchment · 1 f. · 13 x 31 cm · 1580-1590
French notarial document (manuscript waste as binding of Cod. 172)

This fragment was removed from Cod. 172‬‬ during the restoration of the previous binding; presumably it originated in the legal office of Pierre Daniels in Orléans, as attested by the fact that his name is on the document. (mit)

Online Since: 12/17/2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.78
Parchment · 2 ff. · 26 x 13 cm · Southern Germany · beginning of the 14th century
Ulrich von dem Türlin: Arabel (fragment)

Remnants of a manuscript of the Arabel by Ulrich von dem Türlin, which constitutes the backstory to the Willehalm by Wolfram von Eschenbach. Purchased by the Burgerbibliothek in 1937 from Hans Peter Kraus, antiquarian book dealer in Vienna. (mit/san)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.84
Parchment · 2 ff. · 37 x 24.5 cm; 34.5 x 25 cm · 15th century
Plenarium (Fragment)

The two fragments come from the previous binding of Cod. 125‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬, from which they were removed during restoration; presumably they contain parts of a plenarium with musical notation. (mit)

Online Since: 06/23/2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.2
Parchment · 9 ff. · 20 x 14 cm · France: probably in the area of Reims-Laon-Soissons · 1st half of the 10th century and 3rd third of the 9th century (f. 5)
Augustinus: Retractationes; Texts on the exegesis of the Gospels; Opus incertum de virtutibus et vitiis (fragment)

This quire of 8 leaves probably originated in the circle of John Scotus (in the area of Reims-Laon-Soissons). It contains a fragment of Augustine’s Retractationes and, after that, some previously unknown exegetical texts on the Gospels. A leaf (f. 5) that is several decades older was inserted into the quire, possibly from the model used for this text; it contains another unknown text on the virtues and vices. This fragment came to Bern in 1632 as part of the bequest of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 94.4
Parchment · 8 ff. · 31.5-32 x 21-21.5 cm · France: area of Orléans · 1st quarter of the 9th century
Commentarius in Psalmos; Commentarius in Proverbia Salomonis (fragment)

This fragment consists of 8 leaves from a large-format manuscript that has long been associated with Theodulf of Orléans. It is actually a quire from Theodulf’s composite manuscript of biblical exegesis, which had until now been thought lost; its remaining parts are contained in MS Paris, BN lat. 15679. The quire, now bound, contains the end of the commentary on the Psalms as well as the beginning of the commentary on the Proverbia Salomonis. Thanks to a partially erased note of ownership, it can be demonstrated that this fragment once was the property of the Abbey of Saint-Mesmin, Micy; in 1632 it came to Bern as part of the bequest of Jacques Bongars. (mit)

Online Since: 06/13/2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.1
Paper · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 20 cm · France · 1370-1380
Fragment of a chansonnier: Trouvère c

Fragment of a 14th century French Trouvère manuscript. It contains 18 jeux-partis (17 with the participation of Jehan Bretel) and a fragment of the Prise amoureuse by Jean Acart de Hesdin; all chansons except for one are attested in the parallel version. The songs have been transmitted without notation. (mit/hop)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.2
Parchment · 38 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10-10.5 cm · Northern France or Flanders · beginning of the 14th century (around 1314–1316)
Lanfrancus Mediolanensis: Surgery

Fragment of a contemporaneous French translation of the Chirurgia parva by Lanfranc of Milan. This small-format booklet is incomplete; it presents the oldest remaining witness of the work; the other four surviving manuscripts all date from the 15th century. Based on a text comparison with the Latin version, one must probably assume the loss of a quire at the front as well as at the back. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.3
Parchment · 4 ff. · 15.5 x 11.5 cm · France · 14th century
Tractatus de peccatis; Poème pieux (fragment)

The Latin part of this fragment (f. 1r3r) contains a collection of excerpts from various authors regarding sins and penance, morals, etc. The French part (f. 3v4v) contains one or two poem(s) in verse, which seem to have survived only in this fragment. (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.4
Parchment · 13 ff. · 14 x 10 cm · France · 2nd half of the 13th century
Maurice de Sully: sermons (fragment)

Fragment of a small-format manuscript with sermons by Maurice de Sully. It contains sermons 27–36, however, the quires are arranged incorrectly: the text of quire 2 (f. 913) is followed by the text of quire 1 (f. 18). (mit)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Documents: 33, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 33, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Fragmenta Bongarsiana

Beginn: März 2018

Status: Laufend

Finanziert durch: Burgerbibliothek Bern, swissuniversities, SNF

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: In Zusammenarbeit mit der Burgerbibliothek Bern wurde die Digitalisierung von 150 Pergamentfragmenten ermöglicht. Die meisten derselben stammen aus der Sammlung Jacques Bongars (1554-1612), der wie Pierre Pithou (1539-1596) und besonders Pierre Daniel (1530-1603), mit welchem Bongars besonders stark verbunden war, ein philologisches Interesse an selten überlieferten Texten besass. Jacques Bongars und Pierre Daniel gehörten zu den ersten Gelehrten, die sich für Fragmente interessierten. Aus diesem Grunde ist die Berner Fragmentensammlung einmalig, da sie nicht nur aus Makulatur besteht, sondern auch aus einer großen Anzahl unvollständig überlieferten Handschriften, von denen zum Beispiel nur eine einzelne Lage oder ein Teil davon gesammelt wurde. Im Rahmen der Erschliessung für e-codices konnten zahlreiche Fragmente erstmals identifiziert werden. Meistens handelt es sich dabei um bekannte Texte bzw. Autoren, es gelangen aber auch spektakuläre Neufunde von bislang gänzlich unbekannten Texten zur Bibelexegese aus karolingischer Zeit. Die Sammlung wird in den nächsten Jahren parallel auf e-codices und Fragmentarium veröffentlicht.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
[sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina)
Pergament · 18 ff. · 15.5-46 x 10.5-33.5 · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina

Reste einer im frühen 9. Jahrhundert in Tours entstandenen Alkuinbibel aus dem Berner Dominikanerkloster, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangten die Trägerbände auf verschiedenen Wegen in den Besitz der Berner Stadtbibliothek bzw. verschiedener Bibliotheken in Solothurn. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente BBB Cod. 756.59 (1 Blatt), Cod. 756.70 (8 Blätter und 1 Streifen) sowie Cod. 756.71 (2 Blätter) durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst; sie befinden sich heute in der Burgerbibliothek Bern (BBB). In situ, d.h. in Inkunabeln der Universitätsbibliothek Bern (MUE) befinden sich noch ein weiteres Blatt (MUE Inc. I.20) bzw. kleinere Fragmente (MUE Inc. IV.77). In der Zentralbibliothek Solothurn (ZBS) befinden sich: Cod. S 458 (Spiegelblätter) sowie S II 151 (abgelöste Fragmente). (mit/hol)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.1
Pergament · 6 ff. · 21 x 13.5 cm · Bayern oder Österreich · 2. Hälfte 12. Jh. / 1. Hälfte 13. Jh.
Pflanzenglossar, Summarium Heinrici (Fragment)

Reste einer Handschrift des Summarium Heinrici sowie eines daran angehängten Pflanzenglossars mit deutschen Interlinearglossen. Vor 1875 von Hermann Hagen aus drei Bucheinbänden der Stadtbibliothek Bern abgelöst. Weitere Teile befinden sich in der Zentralbibliothek Zürich und in der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Bonn. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.2
Pergament · 1 f. · 28 x 18 cm · Deutschland? · 11. Jh.
Solinus, Gaius Julius: Collectanea rerum memorabilium (Fragment)

Ein Blatt aus einer Handschrift der Collectanea rerum memorabilium des Gaius Julius Solinus, welches Teile der Descriptio Indiae enthält. Vor 1875 von Hermann Hagen von einem Trägerband der Stadtbibliothek Bern abgelöst. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.3
Pergament · 2 ff. · 21.5 x 17.5 cm · Fulda · zweites Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts
Cetius Faventinus: Artis architectonicae privatis usibus adbreviatus liber (Fragment)

Fragment einer in Fulda etwa im 2. Viertel des 9. Jahrhunderts entstandenen Handschrift mit den Auszügen des Cetius Faventinus (Ende 3./Anfang 4. Jh.?) aus Vitruvs De Architectura. Wann der Codex Fulda verließ, lässt sich nicht bestimmen. Zwei Fuldaer Bibliothekskataloge vom Anfang und der Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts führen noch eine Faventinus-Handschrift auf. (stb)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 722.4
Pergament · 2 ff. · 19 x 17.5 cm · Deutschland? · 12. / 13. Jh.
Constantinus Africanus: Viaticus (Fragment)

Ein Doppelblatt einer Handschrift aus dem Viaticus des Constantius Africanus, einem aus dem Arabischen übersetzten Handbuch für reisende Ärzte. Vor 1875 von Hermann Hagen von einem Trägerband der Stadtbibliothek Bern abgelöst. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.40
Pergament · 2 ff. · 19 x 14.5 / 18 x 13.5 cm · Süddeutschland · Ende 13. / Anfang 14. Jh.
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Willehalm

Reste einer Handschrift des Willehalm Wolframs von Eschenbach. Durch Hans Bloesch im August 1928 aus Mss.h.h.XIV.144 abgelöst. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.59
Pergament · 1 f. · 46 x 32 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangte der Trägerband (MUE Inc I 85) in den Besitz von Eberhard Rümlang (ca. 1500–1551) und Wolfgang Musculus (= Müslin, 1497–1563), der den Band 1556 der Berner Bibliothek schenkte. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.64
Pergament · 4 ff. · 24.5-26.5 x 19.5-21 cm · 2. Hälfte 9. Jh. / 1. Hälfte 10. Jh.
Priscianus: Institutiones grammaticae (Fragment)

Fragment einer vermutlich in Süddeutschland entstandenen Handschrift von Priscianus: Institutiones grammaticae, von dem sich weitere 10 Blätter in Paris BN lat. 10403. f. 615 befinden. Die vier Einzelblätter gelangten über einen Druck aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars 1632 nach Bern, wo sie im 20. Jh. abgelöst wurden. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.66
Pergament · 3 ff. · 17.5 x 26.5; 19 x 38; 17 x 14.5 cm · 1538-1569
Urkundenmakulatur aus Cod. 120

Die drei Urkunden stammen aus dem Vorgängereinband von Cod. 120 (jetzt 120-1 und 120-2), aus dem sie bei der Restaurierung entfernt wurden; es handelt sich um zwei Hofgerichts-Urkunden der Grafen zu Sulz in Rottweil (Nr. 1 und 3) sowie um ein Fragment einer in Strassburg ausgestellten Kaufurkunde. (mit)

Online seit: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.70
Pergament · 9 ff. · 33-34 x 25.5-26.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangten die Trägerbände (MUE Inc. III.15, Bd. 3–4; der Streifen von Cod. 756.70e stammt aus MUE Inc. I.6) vielleicht mit dem Büchervermächtnis des Venners Jürg Schöni 1534 in den Besitz der Berner Bibliothek. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.71
Pergament · 2 ff. · 26.5 x 33.5/31.5 cm · Frankreich: Tours · frühes 9. Jahrhundert
Biblia latina: Vulgata, recensio Alcuini (Fragment)

Reste einer Alkuinbibel aus dem Dominikanerkloster Bern, die um 1495 durch den Buchbinder Johannes Vatter als Spiegelblätter verschiedener heute in Bern und Solothurn befindlicher Inkunabeln verwendet wurden. Nach Aufhebung des Klosters 1528 gelangte der Trägerband (MUE Inc. III.15, Bd. 1) vielleicht mit dem Büchervermächtnis des Venners Jürg Schöni 1534 in den Besitz der Berner Bibliothek. Um 1945 wurden die Fragmente durch Johannes Lindt aus den Trägerbänden abgelöst. Zusammenführung der Fragmente: [sine loco], codices restituti, Cod. 5 (Biblia latina). (mit)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.72
Pergament · 1 f. · 13 x 31 cm · 1580-1590
Französische Notariatsurkunde (Einbandmakulatur von Cod. 172)

Das Fragment wurde bei der Restaurierung des Vorgängereinbandes von Cod. 172‬‬ entfernt; es stammt vermutlich aus der Anwaltskanzlei Pierre Daniels in Orléans, wie dessen Name auf der Urkunde bezeugt. (mit)

Online seit: 17.12.2015

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.78
Pergament · 2 ff. · 26 x 13 cm · Süddeutschland · Anfang 14. Jh.
Ulrich von dem Türlin: Arabel (Fragment)

Reste einer Handschrift des Arabel Ulrichs von dem Türlin. Es handelt sich dabei um die Vorgeschichte des Willehalm Wolframs von Eschenbach. 1937 von der Burgerbibliothek bei Hans Peter Kraus, Antiquar in Wien, erworben. (mit/san)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 756.84
Pergament · 2 ff. · 37 x 24.5 cm; 34.5 x 25 cm · 15. Jahrhundert
Plenarium (Fragment)

Die beiden Fragmente stammen aus dem Vorgängereinband von Cod. 125‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬, aus dem sie bei der Restaurierung entfernt wurden; sie enthalten vermutlich Teile eines Plenariums, mit Notenschrift. (mit)

Online seit: 23.06.2016

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 91.2
Pergament · 9 ff. · 20 x 14 cm · Frankreich: vermutlich Raum Reims-Laon-Soissons · 1. Hälfte 10. Jahrhundert bzw. 3. Drittel 9. Jahrhundert (f. 5)
Augustinus: Retractationes; Texte zur Evangelienexegese; Opus incertum de virtutibus et vitiis (Fragment)

Vermutlich im Umkreis des Johannes Scotus Raum (Reims-Laon-Soissons) entstandene Lage von 8 Blättern, die nach einem Bruchstück von Augustins Retractationes bislang unbekannte Texte zur Evangelienexegese enthält. Darin eingelegt (f. 5) ist ein um einige Jahrzehnte älteres Blatt, möglicherweise aus der Vorlage, mit einem ebenfalls unbekannten Text zu den Tugenden und Lastern. Das Fragment gelangte 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern. (mit)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 94.4
Pergament · 8 ff. · 31.5-32 x 21-21.5 cm · Frankreich: Raum Orléans · 1. Viertel 9. Jahrhundert
Commentarius in Psalmos; Commentarius in Proverbia Salomonis (Fragment)

Acht Blätter einer grossformatigen Handschrift, die bereits seit längerer Zeit mit Theodulf von Orléans in Verbindung gebracht wurden. Tatsächlich handelt es sich um eine bislang verloren geglaubte Lage aus dem bibelexegetischen Sammelband des Theodulf, deren übrige Teile in Paris, BN lat. 15679 enthalten sind. Die heute verbundene Lage umfasst den Schluss des Psalmenkommentars sowie den Beginn eines Kommentars zu den Proverbia Salomonis. Aufgrund eines teilweise radierten Besitzeintrags lässt sich die Zugehörigkeit zur Abtei Saint-Mesmin de Micy belegen. Das Fragment gelangte 1632 aus dem Besitz von Jacques Bongars nach Bern. (mit)

Online seit: 13.06.2019

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.1
Papier · 4 ff. · 27.5 x 20 cm · Frankreich · 1370-1380
Chansonnier-Fragment: Trouvère c

Fragment einer französischen Trouvère-Handschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts. Enthält 18 Jeux-partis (17 mit Beteiligung von Jehan Bretel) und ein Fragment der Prise amoureuse des Jean Acart de Hesdin; alle Chansons bis auf eines sind in der Parallelüberlieferung bezeugt. Die Lieder sind ohne Notation überliefert. (mit/hop)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.2
Pergament · 38 ff. · 14-14.5 x 10-10.5 cm · Nordfrankreich oder Flandern · Anfang 14. Jh. (um 1314–1316)
Lanfranc de Milan: Chirurgie

Fragment einer zeitnahen französischen Übersetzung der Chirurgia parva des Lanfranc von Mailand. Das unvollständig erhaltene kleinformatige Büchlein bildet den ältesten erhaltenen Textzeugen des Werkes: die übrigen vier erhaltenen Handschriften stammen alle aus dem 15. Jh. Aufgrund des Textvergleiches mit der lateinischen Ausgabe ist vorne und hinten wohl vom Verlust von je 1 Lage auszugehen. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.3
Pergament · 4 ff. · 15.5 x 11.5 cm · Frankreich · 14. Jh.
Tractatus de peccatis; Poème pieux (Fragment)

Der lateinische Teil des Fragments (f. 1r3r) enthält eine Sammlung von Auszügen aus verschiedenen Autoren zu Sünden und Busse, Moral etc. Der französische Teil (f. 3v4v) enthält ein oder zwei offenbar unikal überlieferte Gedicht(e) in Versform. (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. A 95.4
Pergament · 13 ff. · 14 x 10 cm · Frankreich · 2. Hälfte 13. Jh.
Maurice de Sully: Sermons (Fragment)

Fragment einer kleinformatigen Handschrift mit Predigten des Maurice de Sully. Enthalten sind die Sermons 27–36, die Lagen sind jedoch in der falschen Reihenfolge foliiert: Auf den Text von Lage 2 (f. 913) folgt der Text von Lage 1 (f. 18). (mit)

Online seit: 14.06.2018

Dokumente: 33, angezeigt: 1 - 20