Documents: 96, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Switzerland’s illuminated treasures

March 2020 - November 2020

Status: In progress

Description: The exhibitions celebrate the fifteenth anniversary of the e-codices project, the Swiss platform for the digitisation of manuscripts. In this connection, both collections are showing highlights from their own holdings as well as a large number of valuable loans from other libraries participating in the e-codices programme.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, ZF 18
Paper · 334 ff. · 40 x 29-29.5 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Vol. 3

The Eidgenössische Chronik by Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) is in chronological order the last of the illustrated Swiss Chronicles of the late Middle Ages. It was written by private initiative between 1510 and 1535 and took as its model primarily the Official Bernese Chronicle - Amtliche Berner Chronik - by Diebold Schilling and the Chronicle - Kronica - by Petermann Etterlin. This volume, the third and last of the Chronicle, presents the events of the Burgundian Wars and the Swabian War; it ends with the Italian military campaigns, among others the Battle of Marignano on September 13th and 14th 1515, in which presumably the author himself took part. The volume is illustrated with 196 uncolored pen sketches by an anonymous artist. Today the three volumes are held in different libraries: the first volume is in the Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, the second in the City Archives in Bremgarten, and the third in the Cantonal Library of Aargau. (ber)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F II 20
Parchment · 152 ff. · 24.5-25 x 17.5-18 cm · 13th century
Aristoteles, De animalibus libri XIX

Since the 9th century, Aristotle’s Historia animalium, an orderly description of various creatures, had been available in an Arabic translation, which Michael Scotus translated into Latin in 1220. The decoration of the initials in this manuscript, which Johannes Heynlin purchased in Paris and bequeathed to the Carthusian monastery of Basel, is rich in drolleries. Throughout the volume, there are annotations by various hands. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, O I 18
Paper · 83 ff. · 29 x 20.5-21 cm · Basel · 1471
Thüring von Ringoltingen, Story of the beautiful Melusine

Nikolaus Meyer zum Pfeil, city clerk of Basel, owned a large collection of incunabula of mostly German entertainment literature and himself copied a number of manuscripts, such as this Melusine by Thüring von Ringoltingen in 1471. The paper manuscript contains 38 colored pen and ink drawings, which apparently are by two different painters. Because sheets were lost, the current text has gaps; it is unclear whether illustrations were lost as well. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 218
Parchment · 103 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · France: Ile-de-France (Sens?) · 1371
Guillaume de Machaut, Oeuvres

Guillaume de Marchaut was one of the most important poets and composers of the middle ages in France. His work is represented in the collection of the Burgerbibliothek Bern by a manuscript of the highest quality: the 13 column-width miniatures and many of the initials are polychromatic and accented with gold leaf. Notation provided with some of the songs makes this manuscript, easily datable by its scribal colophon, important to the study of music history. (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 219
Parchment · 2 + 77 + 2 ff. · 30.5 x 23 cm · France: Fleury; Reims? · 699
Eusebius-Hieronymus: Chronicon

The manuscript contains the second part of the Chronicle of Eusebius in the Latin translation and continuation of Jerome. The tables, generally laid out as double pages, are in the majority of cases condensed onto a single page. The book decoration is a superb example of pre-Carolingian manuscript illustration from the Frankish Empire and Northern Italy. From the detailed information on the title page, one can deduce that the text was written in 699; the Bernese Chronicle of Eusebius therefore is Switzerland’s oldest dated manuscript. (mit)

Online Since: 09/23/2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. AA 91
Paper · 181 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · 1467
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Parzival, German

The so-called "Berner Parzival" is the last dated manuscript of Wolfram von Eschenbach’s epic poem about the Holy Grail, created between 1200 and 1210; moreover, this textual witness is adorned with illustrations. Presumably the Bernese merchant Jörg Friburger commissioned the manuscript in 1467 from the scribe Johann Stemhein of Konstanz, who edited and stylistically modernized the text of his model to match the tastes of a late medieval urban public. In addition, he gave directions for illustrations, which were later executed by a painter who created 28 colored pen and ink drawings. The further history of this manuscript,which today consists of 180 leaves, is unknown; it must, however, have reached the Bernese municipal library in the early years of the 19th century, where it is attested at least since 1816. (mit)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.1
Parchment · 235 pp. · 40–40.5 x 28–28.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, vol. 1

The Amtliche Berner Chronik (Official Chronicle of Bern) was commissioned by the city of Bern in 1474. About ten years later, Diebold Schilling was able to present the city council with this three-volume work, with its title pages in color, decorative initials, and more than six hundred large illustrations. The first volume contains the early history of Bern from the founding of the city until the year 1421, based on the older chronicle by Konrad Justinger, following the version by Bendicht Tschachtlan. The work remained in the possession of the Bern Chancellery for nearly three hundred years before the volumes were given to the City Library in 1762. (mit)

Online Since: 12/20/2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 7
Parchment · 59 ff. · 20.8 x 14.2 cm · Italy, Naples · 15th century
Genus Arati

This Latin manuscript on astronomical topics includes works by Germanicus, Pliny the Elder and Hyginus. The codex features numerous pen and ink drawings, including a planisphere (rotatable star chart) consisting of five golden concentric circles containing constellations portrayed as people or animals. These drawings, dating from the 15th century, have been attributed to Antonio di Mario of the Neapolitan region. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 10
Parchment · 251 ff. · 26.6 x 19.3 cm · France · 13th century
Aristoteles, Opera; Avicenna, De congelatione seu De mineralibus; Nicolaus Damasceus, De plantis; Costa-Ben-Luca, De differentia spiritus et animae; Alexander Aphrodisiensis, Opera

Manuscript CB 10 was probably intended for educational use, it contains works of Aristotle, Avicenna, Nicolaus Damascenus, Qusta Ibn-Luca and Alexander Aphrodisiensis. This manuscript, written on parchment during the 13th century, presumably belonged to a student of the Faculty of Arts in Leipzig, as may be concluded from a list of lectures attended during the year 1439 which is included in the codex. The list contains the names of the professors, titles of the texts covered, lecturers' fees, and starting and ending dates for the lecture periods. (fmb)

Online Since: 12/20/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 14
Parchment · 263 ff. · 43.5 x 27.2 cm · Italy, Bologna (?) · 14th century
Hazo Bononiensis . Hugolinus Bononiensis . Iohannes Bassianus . Placentinus

This Latin parchment manuscript from the 14th century contains a comprehensive commentary by jurists of Bologna on the "Corpus Iuris Civilis" as well as on others, such as the "Codex Justinianus" and the "Digests". (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 39
Parchment · 95 ff. · 26.5 x 17.2 cm · Italy · 1467
Giovanni Boccaccio, Elegia di madonna Fiammetta

The Elegia di madonna Fiammetta, dedicated to "women in love", describes in the first person the feelings of the young Neapolitan Fiammetta, who has been left by her beloved Panfilo. The Elegia, a prose work written by Boccaccio in his youth, praised for the subtlety of its psychological approach, mixes autobiographical elements and obvious references to Latin literature. It is preserved here in a manuscript copied in 1467 by Giovanni Cardello da Imola, whose regular calligraphy is set off by decorations in bianchi girari (white vine-stem). (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 41
Parchment · I + 48 + I ff. · 24 x 17.8 cm · Northern Italy (Bologna?) · 2nd half of the 14th century
Boethius, De consolatione Philosophiae

Boethius' De consolatione Philosophiae knew continuous success during the Middle Ages. This 14th century manuscript offers a complete copy of the Latin text with some interlinear glosses. The book decoration consists of a historiated initial with a half-length frontal portrait of the author as he points to his book (f. 1). From this  initial sprouts a short leaf scroll. In addition there are very beautiful decorated initials placed at the beginning of the various books of  the Consolatione (f. 8, 17, 30 and 41). Their style indicates that the manuscript was made in northern Italy, perhaps Bologna. (rou)

Online Since: 12/12/2019

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 49
Parchment · 150 ff. · 28 x 20 cm · France · around 1460
Christine of Pisan, Epitre d'Othea

This manuscript, commissioned by the bibliophile Antoine of Bourgogne in 1460, contains the Epître d’Othea by Christine de Pisan, decorated with about a hundred masterful miniatures (a complete pictorial cycle). One of these contains the dedication of the work and shows four figures, identifiable as Philip the Good, Charles the Brave, and two of Philip's illegitimate sons, David and Anthony of Burgundy. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/25/2006

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 52
Parchment · II + 166 ff. · 19.9 x 14.7 cm · probably France · beginning of the 12th century
Cicero, De Inventione

While Cicero is regarded today mainly as a philosopher and politician, he was regarded during the middle ages mainly as a teacher of public rhetoric. This is demonstrated by CB 52, most likely of French origin, which consists of copies of "De inventione" and a work long attributed to Cicero, "Rhetorica ad Herennium". The manuscript dates from the beginning of the 12th century. (fmb)

Online Since: 03/25/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 53
Parchment · 168 ff. · 40 x 29 cm · Burgundy · about 1470-1475
Quintus Curtius, The Life and Deeds of Alexander the Great

This French translation of the story of Alexander, destined to belong to Charles the Bold, was commissioned by Vasco da Lucena, "the Portugese", a retainer of the Infanta Isabella, who was married to Philip the Good. This revival of the work by Quintus Curtius Rufus, which is augmented by texts from Plutarch, Valerius Maximus, Aulus Gellius and Justin, allows the author to liberate the Macedonian conqueror from legends perpetuated by the medieval tradition. The Miroir des princes portrays a model of a hero shaped within the framework of the humanistic movement initiated by the dukes of Burgundy in the late middle ages. CB 53 was copied in Burgundy and may be fairly accurately dated only a few years after the translation was made; it was decorated with miniatures in the artistic circle of the Master of Marguerite of York (ca. 1470-1475). (mes)

Online Since: 12/21/2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 61
Parchment · I + 108 + I ff. · 24.5 x 16.5 cm · Netherlands · about 1400-1405
Eike von Repgow: Sachsenspiegel

The Sachenspiegel by Eike von Repgow is one of the oldest books of law in the German language. This parchment manuscript, CB 61, was produced at the beginning of the 15th century and contains codes of common and feudal law. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 75
Parchment · 282 ff. · 46.3 x 29.2 cm · Bologne · 13th-14th centuries or beginning of the 14th century
Gratianus, Decretum (cum glossa ordinaria)

This manuscript containing legal materials from the 13th or early 14th century demonstrates the high regard in which the "Decretum Gratiani", often considered the foundation of modern canon law, was held during the middle ages. The text is bordered by the "Glossa Ordinaria" of Johannes Teutonicus, in the first revision by Barthomeus of Brescia (before 1245). The manuscript features numerous ornately illustrated initials. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 78
Parchment · 88 ff. · 32.5 x 23 cm · Italy, Venice · 14th century (around 1370?)
Guido de Columnis, Historia destructionis Troiae

This 14th century parchment manuscript preserves the "Historia destructionis Troiae" by Guido de Columnis for posterity. Its 187 miniatures crafted by Giustino da Forlì portray the most important scenes of the Trojan War against a background of the Gothic architecture of Venice. The margins of the manuscript reveal written traces of the collaborative efforts of the copyist and the illuminator: the scribe made notes in Venetian dialect indicating the plan for incorporating a series of miniature illustrations, which were then duly added by the illuminator. (fmb)

Online Since: 07/31/2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 79
Parchment · IV + 137 + III ff. · 26.3 x 17.6 cm · 1308
Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun, Roman de la Rose

Guillaume de Loris and Jean de Meung (Meun) are the authors of the Roman de la Rose, one of the masterpieces of medieval courtly literature. In a phantasmagoric and allegorical setting, the lover seeks entry to a locked garden which conceals a rose, the image of his beloved. The second part, written by Jean de Meung, provides a philosophical and moral lesson. This manuscript, written on parchment in the 14th century, contains many golden and gold-accented illustrations and borders as well as initials with blue and red extensions. (jos)

Online Since: 06/02/2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 86
Paper · 13 ff. · 30.2 x 20.5 cm · Italy, possibly Naples · 14th century
Ilias latina

The Ilias Latina, copied on paper during the 14th century, is a Latin adaptation of the great epic by Homer, one of the foundational texts of ancient Greece. It was written in Gothic quasi-cursive script by a single scribe in the region of Naples in Italy. One should take note of some of the decorated initials, some of which incorporate figures, especially that of a muse, clad in a dress covered with stars and holding a sword in her hand. (jos)

Online Since: 06/02/2010

Documents: 96, displayed: 1 - 20

Dokumente: 97, angezeigt: 1 - 20

Teilprojekt: Die schönsten Seiten der Schweiz

März 2020 - November 2020

Status: Laufend

Beschreibung des Teilprojekts: Die zwei Ausstelllungen feiern das 15-jährige Jubiläum des Projekts e-codices, die Schweizer Plattform für Handschriftendigitalisierung. Beide Sammlungen zeigen zu dieser Gelegenheit die schönsten Seiten ihrer eigenen Bestände sowie eine Auswahl hochwertiger Leihgaben aus anderen Sammlungen, die ebenfalls Partner des Projekts e-codices sind.

Alle Bibliotheken und Sammlungen

Preview Page
Aarau, Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek, ZF 18
Papier · 334 ff. · 40 x 29-29.5 cm · Bremgarten · [1514-1532]
Werner Schodoler, Eidgenössische Chronik, Bd. 3

Die Eidgenössische Chronik von Werner Schodoler (1490-1541) ist die jüngste der illustrierten Schweizer Chroniken des Spätmittelalters. Ihre Niederschrift wurde aus privater Initiative zwischen 1510 und 1535 unternommen und hat v.a. die Amtliche Berner Chronik von Diebold Schilling und die Kronica von Petermann Etterlin zur Vorlage. Dieser Band, der dritte und letzte Band der Chronik, enthält die Ereignisse der Burgunderkriege und des Schwabenkriegs und endet mit den italienischen Kriegszügen, unter anderem der Schlacht von Marignano vom 13. und 14. September 1515, an welcher der Autor vermutlich selbst teilgenommen hatte. Der Band ist mit 196 unkolorierten Federzeichnungen von einem anonymen Künstler illustriert. Die drei Bände befinden sich heute in unterschiedlichen Bibliotheken: der erste Band in der Leopold-Sophien-Bibliothek in Überlingen, der zweite im Stadtarchiv Bremgarten und der dritte in der Aargauer Kantonsbibliothek. (ber)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F II 20
Pergament · 152 ff. · 24.5-25 x 17.5-18 cm · 13. Jh.
Aristoteles, De animalibus libri XIX

Seit dem 9. Jh. lag Aristoteles’ Historia animalium, eine ordnende Beschreibung verschiedener Lebewesen, in einer arabischen Übersetzung vor, welche Michael Scotus um 1220 ins Lateinische übertrug. Der Initialschmuck der vorliegenden Handschrift, welche Johannes Heynlin in Paris gekauft und der Basler Kartause vermacht hatte, ist reich an Drôlerien. Im ganzen Band finden sich Anmerkungen von verschiedenen Händen. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, O I 18
Papier · 83 ff. · 29 x 20.5-21 cm · Basel · 1471
Thüring von Ringoltingen, Geschichte von der schönen Melusina

Nikolaus Meyer zum Pfeil, Ratsschreiber von Basel, besass bereits im 15. Jahrhundert eine grössere Sammlung von Frühdrucken vorwiegend deutscher Unterhaltungsliteratur und schrieb selbst mehrere Handschriften, so im Jahr 1471 die Melusine des Thüring von Ringoltingen. Die Papierhandschrift enthält 38 kolorierte Federzeichnungen, welche offenbar von zwei verschiedenen Malern stammen. Aufgrund von Blattverlusten weist der Text heute Lücken auf; ob auch Illustrationen verloren gingen, lässt sich nicht mehr klären. (flr)

Online seit: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 218
Pergament · 103 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · Frankreich: Ile-de-France (Sens?) · 1371
Guillaume de Machaut, Oeuvres

Guillaume de Machaut gehört zu den bedeutendsten Dichtern und Komponisten des französichen Mittelalters. Sein Werk ist in der Burgerbibliothek Bern durch eine von der Ausstattung her erstklassige Handschrift vertreten: So sind die 13 spaltenbreiten Miniaturen wie auch zahlreiche der Initialen polychrom und mit Blattgold verziert. Für die Musikgeschichte wichtig ist die durch ein Schreiberkolophon datierbare Handschrift ferner wegen der Noten, die einigen der Lieder beigeben sind. (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. 219
Pergament · 2 + 77 + 2 ff. · 30.5 x 23 cm · Frankreich: Fleury; Reims? · 699
Eusebius-Hieronymus: Chronicon

Die Handschrift enthält den zweiten Teil der Chronik des Eusebius in der lateinischen Übersetzung und Fortsetzung des Hieronymus. Die eigentlich doppelseitig angelegten Tafeln sind meistens auf eine Seite zusammengedrängt. Erstklassig ist der Buchschmuck als Zeugnis vorkarolingischer Handschriftenillustration des Frankenreiches und Oberitaliens. Aus den detaillierten Abgaben des Titelblattes ergibt sich das Abfasungsdatum 699; die Berner Eusebius Chronik ist damit die älteste datierte Handschrift der Schweiz. (mit)

Online seit: 23.09.2014

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Cod. AA 91
Papier · 181 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · 1467
Wolfram von Eschenbach: Parzival, dt.

Beim sogenannten „Berner Parzival“ handelt es sich um den letzten datierten handschriftlichen Textzeugen des zwischen 1200 und 1210 entstandenen Gralromans Wolframs von Eschenbach, der überdies mit Illustrationen versehen ist. Die Handschrift wurde vermutlich 1467 vom Berner Kaufmann Jörg Friburger beim Schreiber Johann Stemhein von Konstanz in Auftrag gegeben. Dieser hat den Text seiner Vorlage stilistisch und redaktionell für den Geschmack eines spätmittelalterlichen Stadtpublikums modernisiert. Zudem liefert er Anweisungen für Illustrationen, die ein Maler mit 28 kolorierten Federzeichnungen in einem wenig späteren Arbeitsgang ausgeführt hat. Die weitere Geschichte der heute 180 Blätter umfassenden Handschrift ist unbekannt; sie muss jedoch in den ersten Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts in die Berner Stadtbibliothek gelangt sein, in deren Besitz sie spätestens 1816 nachgewiesen ist. (mit)

Online seit: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Bern, Burgerbibliothek, Mss.h.h.I.1
Pergament · 235 pp. · 40–40.5 x 28–28.5 cm · Bern · 1478-1483
Diebold Schilling, Amtliche Berner Chronik, Bd. 1

Die Amtliche Berner Chronik wurde 1474 vom Rat der Stadt Bern in Auftrag gegeben. Rund zehn Jahre später konnte Diebold Schilling das dreibändige, mit kolorierten Titelblättern, Initialen und über 600 grossen Illustrationen geschmückte Werk dem Rat überreichen. Der erste Band enthält die Berner Frühgeschichte von der Stadtgründung bis ins Jahr 1421, nach der älteren Chronik des Konrad Justinger, in der Fassung von Bendicht Tschachtlan. In der Folgezeit wurde das Werk fast drei Jahrhunderte lang in der Berner Kanzlei aufbewahrt, welche die Bände 1762 der Stadtbibliothek schenkte. (mit)

Online seit: 20.12.2012

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 7
Pergament · 59 ff. · 20.8 x 14.2 cm · Italien, Neapel · 15. Jahrhundert
Genus Arati

Die lateinische Handschrift mit astronomischem Inhalt enthält Werke von Germanicus, Plinius dem Älteren und Hyginus. Der Codex weist zahlreiche Tuschzeichnungen auf, darunter eine Planisphäre aus fünf goldenen, konzentrischen Kreisen, die als Personen oder Tiere abgebildete Sternbilder enthalten. Die ins 15. Jahrhundert zu datierenden Zeichnungen werden Antonio di Mario im neapolitanischen Umland zugeschrieben. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 10
Pergament · 251 ff. · 26.6 x 19.3 cm · Frankreich · 13. Jahrhundert
Aristoteles, Opera; Avicenna, De congelatione seu De mineralibus; Nicolaus Damasceus, De plantis; Costa-Ben-Luca, De differentia spiritus et animae; Alexander Aphrodisiensis, Opera

Die wahrscheinlich für den didaktischen Gebrauch vorgesehene Handschrift CB 10 enthält Werke von Aristoteles, Avicenna, Nicolaus Damascenus, Qusta Ibn-Luqa und Alexander Aphrodisiensis. Diese auf Pergament des 13. Jahrhunderts geschriebene Handschrift gehörte vermutlich einem Studenten der Artesfakultät in Leipzig, wie sich aus einer im Codex enthaltenen Liste besuchter Vorlesungen aus dem Jahr 1439 schliessen lässt. Die Liste enthält ferner Namen der Professoren, Titel der behandelten Texte, Gehälter der Lehrer sowie Anfangs- und Enddaten der Vorlesungen. (fmb)

Online seit: 20.12.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 14
Pergament · 263 ff. · 43.5 x 27.2 cm · Italien, Bologna (?) · 14. Jahrhundert
Hazo Bononiensis . Hugolinus Bononiensis . Iohannes Bassianus . Placentinus

Diese lateinische Pergamenthandschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts enthält einen umfassenden Kommentar von Bologneser Juristen zum Corpus Iuris Civils, so u.a. zum Codex Iustinianus oder den Digesten. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 39
Pergament · 95 ff. · 26.5 x 17.2 cm · Italien · 1467
Giovanni Boccaccio, Elegia di madonna Fiammetta

Die Elegia di madonna Fiammetta, die den “verliebten Frauen” gewidmet ist, nennt die Gefühle der jungen Neapolitanerin Fiammetta in der ersten Person. Sie wurde von ihrem Geliebten Panfilo verlassen. Die Elegie, ein Prosawerk aus der Jugend Boccaccios, das für seine Feinheit und seinen psychologischen Ansatz gerühmt wurde, mischt autobiographische Elemente und offensichtliche Bezüge zur lateinischen Literatur. Sie wird in einem Manuskript, das 1467 von Giovanni Cardello da Imola abgeschrieben wurde, aufbewahrt, dessen regelmässige Kalligraphie von einer Verzierung mit bianchi girari hervorgehoben wird. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 41
Pergament · I + 48 + I ff. · 24 x 17.8 cm · Norditalien (Bologna?) · 2. Hälfte des 14. Jahrhundert
Boethius, De consolatione Philosophiae

Das De consolatione Philosophiae von Boethius kannte während des Mittelalters einen ununterbrochenen Erfolg. Die vorliegende Handschrift aus dem 14. Jahrhundert bietet eine vollständige Kopie des lateinischen Textes mit einigen Interlinearglossen dar. Der Buchschmuck besteht aus einer historisierten Initiale mit kurzer Blattranke, die den Autor, auf sein Buch weisend, von vorne bis zur Körpermitte zeigt (f. 1), sowie aus sehr schönen verzierten Initialen, die zu Beginn der verschiedenen Bücher der Consolatione platziert wurden (f. 8, 17, 30 und 41). Ihr Stil weist darauf hin, dass die Handschrift in Norditalien, vielleicht Bologna, hergestellt wurde. (rou)

Online seit: 12.12.2019

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 49
Pergament · 150 ff. · 28 x 20 cm · Frankreich · um 1460
Christine von Pisan, Epitre d'Othea

Die Handschrift, die 1460 durch den bibliophilen Anton von Bourgogne in Auftrag gegeben wurde, enthält das Epître d’Othea von Christine de Pisan und ist mit rund hundert grossartigen Miniaturen verziert (vollständiger Bilderzyklus). Eine davon enthält die Dedikation des Werkes und zeigt vier Gestalten, die sich als Philipp der Gute, Karl der Kühne und die Bastarde David und Anton von Burgund identifizieren lassen. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.07.2006

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 52
Pergament · II + 166 ff. · 19.9 x 14.7 cm · vermutlich Frankreich · Anfang des 12. Jahrhunderts
Cicero, De Inventione

Während Cicero heute vor allem als Philosoph und Politiker wahrgenommen wird, galt er im Mittelalter in erster Linie als Lehrer der Redekunst. Davon zeugt CB 52, eine wohl aus Frankreich stammende Abschrift von «De inventione» und dem lange Cicero zugeschriebenen Werk «Rhetorica ad Herennium». Die Handschrift wird ins beginnende 12. Jahrhundert datiert. (fmb)

Online seit: 25.03.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 53
Pergament · 168 ff. · 40 x 29 cm · Burgund · ca. 1470-1475
Quintus Curtius Rufus, Faits et gestes d’Alexandre

Die französische Übersetzung der Geschichte von Alexander, die dem zukünftigen Karl dem Kühnen bestimmt war, wurde von Vasco da Lucena, „Portugalois“, bestellt. Er diente der Infantin Isabelle, welche mit Philipp dem Guten verheiratet war. Der Rückgriff auf Quintus Curtius Rufus, ergänzt durch Texte von Plutarch, Valerius Maximus, Aulus Gellius oder Justin, erlaubt dem Autor, den mazedonischen Eroberer von aus der mittelalterlichen Überlieferung geerbten Legenden zu befreien. Wie ein Miroir des princes, der einen Held als Modell zeigt, ist dieser Text im Rahmen der humanistischen Bewegung entstanden, welche sich gegen Ende des Mittelalters im Umkreis der Herzöge von Burgund bildeten. Der CB 53 ist im Burgund nur einige Jahre nach der Verfassung des Textes abgeschrieben worden; er ist mit Miniaturen verziert, die im Kreis des Meisters von Margareta von York (ca. 1470-1475) entstanden. (mes)

Online seit: 21.12.2009

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 61
Pergament · I + 108 + I ff. · 24.5 x 16.5 cm · Niederlande · ca. 1400-1405
Eike von Repgow: Sachsenspiegel

Der Sachsenspiegel Eike von Repgows ist eines der ältesten Rechtsbücher in deutscher Sprache. Die Pergamenthandschrift CB 61 wurde Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts abgeschrieben und enthält Land- und Lehnrecht. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 75
Pergament · 282 ff. · 46.3 x 29.2 cm · Bologne · 13.-14. Jahrhundert oder zu Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts
Gratianus, Decretum (cum glossa ordinaria)

Diese Handschrift juristischen Inhalts des 13. oder beginnenden 14. Jahrhunderts zeigt die grosse Beachtung, welche im Mittelalter dem Decretum Gratiani geschenkt wurde. Der Text ist eingerahmt durch die Glossa Ordinaria des Johannes Teutonicus, in der ersten Überarbeitung des Bartholomäus von Brescia (vor 1245). Die Handschrift weist zahlreiche historisierte Initalen auf. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 78
Pergament · 88 ff. · 32.5 x 23 cm · Italien, Venedig · 14. Jahrhundert (um 1370?)
Guido de Columnis, Historia destructionis Troiae

Die Pergamenthandschrift des 14. Jahrhunderts überliefert die Historia destructionis Troiae von Guido de Columnis. Die 187 Miniaturen wurden von Giustino da Forlì ausgeführt und zeigen die wichtigsten Ereignisse des Trojanischen Krieges vor dem Hintergrund gotischer Architektur in Venedig. An den Rändern in der Handschrift finden sich schriftliche Spuren der Zusammenarbeit von Kopist und Illuminator: in venezianischem Dialekt notierte der Schreiber das für die Miniaturen vorgesehene Bildprogramm, welches der Illuminator dann getreulich umsetzte. (fmb)

Online seit: 31.07.2007

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 79
Pergament · IV + 137 + III ff. · 26.3 x 17.6 cm · 1308
Guillaume de Lorris und Jean de Meun, Roman de la Rose

Guillaume de Lorris und Jean de Meung sind die Autoren des Roman de la Rose, eines der Meisterwerke der höfischen Literatur des Mittelalters. In einem traumhaften und allegorischen Rahmen versucht der Geliebte, in einen geschlossenen Garten einzudringen, welcher eine Rose verbirgt – das Bildnis seiner Geliebten. Der zweite Teil, der von Jean de Meung geschrieben wurde, bietet eine philosophischere und moralisierendere Lektüre. Diese Handschrift, welche im 14. Jahrhundert auf Pergament abgeschrieben wurde, enthält mehrere goldene und mit Gold hervorgehobene Darstellungen und Rahmen, so wie Initialen mit blauen und roten Verlängerungen. (jos)

Online seit: 02.06.2010

Preview Page
Cologny, Fondation Martin Bodmer, Cod. Bodmer 86
Papier · 13 ff. · 30.2 x 20.5 cm · Italien, möglicherweise Neapel · 14. Jahrhundert
Ilias latina

Diese Ilias Latina, welche im 14. Jahrhundert auf Papier abgeschrieben wurde, ist eine lateinische Adaptation des grossen Epos von Homer, einer der Grundtexte des antiken Griechenlands. Sie wurde in einer gotischen Halbkursive von einem einzigen Schreiber in der Region von Neapel geschrieben. Hervorzuheben sind einige gemalte Initialen, die teilweise Figuren enthalten, so eine Muse, die ein mit Sternen übersätes Kleid trägt und ein Schwert in der Hand hält. (jos)

Online seit: 02.06.2010

Dokumente: 97, angezeigt: 1 - 20