Documents: 104, displayed: 1 - 20

Sub-project: Manuscripts from the Carthusian monastery of Basel

summer 2017

Status: In progress

Financed by: University Library Basel

Description: The Carthusian monastery of St. Margarethental was founded in 1401 in Kleinbasel (Lesser Basel); until the Reformation it was an important spiritual and intellectual center whose influence extended far beyond the city of Basel. At the beginning of the 16th century its library contained about 2,000 books, almost all of which became the property of the university after the dissolution of the monastery and constituted the substantive basis of the early university library. Among these books are more than 600 manuscripts, which are currently in the process of being catalogued and made accessible by the University Library Basel. In addition, a scholarly relevant selection of these manuscripts is being digitized, among them the German manuscripts from the the library of the lay brothers as well as the manuscripts containing texts by the Carthusians of Basel.

All Libraries and Collections

Preview Page
Basel, Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt, Klosterarchiv, Kartaus L
Paper · 380 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery in Basel · ca. 1430-1520
Liber benefactorum

This Liber benefactorum, the book of benefactors of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, was written gradually between the 1430s and the 1520s. The main part of the manuscript, a calendar created in the early 15th century, contains the names of over 800 benefactors. The manuscript was designed from the beginning as a Liber benefactorum and has close ties to an annal from the Basel charterhouse that was written during the tenure of Prior Heinrich Arnoldi (StABS, Klosterarchiv Kartaus N). (pla)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 14
Parchment · 312 ff. · 28-29 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Thomas Aquinas, Summa theologiae (prima pars)

This meticulously executed manuscript contains the first part of Thomas Aquinas’s Summa theologiae, one of the Scholastic’s main works; it is from the library of Johannes de Lapide, Carthusian monk in Basel. The quires consist of paper and parchment in regular alteration; the proem begins with an ornamental page decorated with gold with a Q-initial on gold leaf, scroll ornamentation with flowers and berries in the margins, and a decorated intercolumnium. (flr)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Paper · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Postil on Genesis and Exodus, written in 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 quarter- to half-page colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 2-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Paper · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Postil on Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy, written in 1397 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 23 mostly half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Paper · 210 ff. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Postil on Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Esdras and Job, written in 1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 58 half-page, partly or entirely colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Paper · 151 ff. · 30.5-31.5 x 22-22.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Postil on Kings and Esther, written in 1400-1401 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 52 single-column, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Paper · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21.5-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Postil on Jeremiah, Daniel, Maccabees and Judith, written in 1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 53 half- to whole-page, partly framed colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 and ‬10-‬13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Paper · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · probably 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postil on Isaiah and the Twelve Minor Prophets, probably written between 1393 and 1396 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with two schematic drawings of the sun dial that illustrates the miracle of the healing of Hezekiah, This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which A II 1-5 and 10-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Paper · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Postil on the Gospel of Matthew and on the treatise on chess by Jacobus de Cessolis, written in 1392 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 13 single-column colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6 and ‬11-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Paper · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Freiburg im Breisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Postil on the Gospels of John, Luke and Mark as well as on Tobias and Baruch, written in 1392-1393 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 3 whole-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 and ‬12-13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Paper · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Postil on the Acts of the Apostles, on the Apocalypse, and on the canonical letters, written in 1405-1407 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf, decorated with 14 half-page, partly colored pen and ink drawings. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume, richly illustrated copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 and 13 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 03/19/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Paper · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Freiburg in Breisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postil on the Pauline epistles, written in 1413-1415 by the Freiburg priest Rüdiger Schopf. This manuscript is part of a multi-volume copy of the Bible commentary Postilla super totam Bibliam by Nicholas of Lyra, which the secular priest Rüdiger Schopf from Memmingen created for the Carthusian Monastery of Freiburg between 1392 and 1415. In 1430 the work, to which the richly illustrated volumes A II 1-6 and 10-12 belong as well, was sold to the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Paper · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Basel · Middle of the 15th century
Nicholas of Lyra, Interpretation of the Psalter, Part 1 (Ps. 1-74)

German translation of the postil on the Psalms by Nicholas of Lyra (deceased 1349), probably created during his lifetime. The commentary on the Psalms, earlier attributed to Heinrich von Mügeln, is the work of an anonymous writer, not yet historically ascertained, the so-called “Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer“ (Austrian translator of the Bible). In his translation of the original, he abbreviates the text and supplies additions. This copy from the library of the Carthusian monastery of Basel dates to the middle of the 15th century; the miniatures are part of the Vullenhoe group. (flr)

Online Since: 12/20/2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Paper · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · last quarter of the 15th century
Ludwig Moser: “Goldenes Ave Maria“ (text and adaptation)

These two individual leaves transmit both stanzas of the “Goldenes Ave Maria“: once as a song with glosses “Ave got grüß dich reine magt“ (A III 52a), a second time in an adaptation by the Carthusian Ludwig Moser of Basel (A III 52b). Both texts probably were written by him in the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (stu)

Online Since: 12/14/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Paper · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript of theological content

This codex from the holdings of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains as a first part a treatise about the appropriate penance for various transgressions against commandments and sacraments. A second part consists of a collection of Latin hymns with an interlinear translation into German, as well as a loose translation into German as continuous text, in part also combined with a short interpretation. This is followed by texts about the mass and several Opuscula by Gregory of Nazianzus, a letter by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide about the qualities of a good priest, and a brief text by Heinrich Arnoldi about a sermon on Mary. (mue)

Online Since: 06/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Paper · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · 3rd quarter of the 15th century
Johannes Heynlin: Disputationes

This undecorated paper volume from the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel contains theological Disputationes or Quaestiones by Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. These discussions, which, according to a note on folio 1r, took place in Paris in the presence and at the instigation of Heynlin, were copied by different hands, including that of Heynlin himself. (mue)

Online Since: 12/14/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Paper · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · Carthusian Monastery of Basel · around 1510
Statutes of the lay brothers of the Carthusian order

Around 1510, Georg Carpentarius, Carthusian of Basel, translated the statutes of his order’s lay brothers from Latin into German. At the Carthusian Monastery of Basel, the text was considered an autograph by the translator. It was held in the library of the lay brothers. (stu)

Online Since: 10/04/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Paper · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · Carthusian Monastery in Basel · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

This volume was written in 1489 by Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505). Ambrosius, originally from Füssen, enrolled at the University of Basel in 1468/69 and, as can be proven, wrote several mostly liturgical books between 1484 and 1492 at the Carthusian Monastery in that city. Among them is this Epithalamium (bridal or wedding song) for Mary. Possibly this is the same Ambrosius Alantsee who is attested as prior of St. Mang's Abbey in Füssen in 1491. (stu)

Online Since: 03/22/2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Parchment and paper · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Basel · 2nd half of the 15th century
Composite manuscript (Henricus Arnoldi)

This composite manuscript from the Carthusian monastery of Basel contains — partly handwritten and partly printed — primarily texts of devotional and spiritual content. Author (and for the first part of the manuscript also the scribe) for the most part is Heinrich Arnoldi, Prior of the Carthusian monastery from 1449-1480. (flr)

Online Since: 09/26/2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Paper · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; 15th century
Composite manuscript (theological content)

This composite manuscript, property of the scholar and Carthusian monk Johannes Heynlin from Basel, consists of various handwritten and printed pieces of theological content: among them the treatise De saecularium religionibus by the Dominican and church reformer Johannes Nider, written in 1465 by a French scribe and annotated in the margin by Heynlin; or the text De miseria humanae conditionis by Gianfrancesco Poggio Bracciolini, one of the most important humanists of the Italian Renaissance. After Heynlin’s death, the volume became part of the library of the Carthusian Monastery of Basel. (gam/flr)

Online Since: 06/25/2015

Documents: 104, displayed: 1 - 20

Documents: 104, affichés: 1 - 20

Sous-projet: Manuscrits de la chartreuse de Bâle

été 2017

statut: en cours

financé par: Bibliothèque universitaire de Bâle

Description du projet: La chartreuse de St. Margarethental fut fondée à Kleinbasel (Petit-Bâle) en 1401 et constitua jusqu’à la Réforme un important centre spirituel et intellectuel, dont l’influence alla bien au-delà de la cité rhénane. Au début du XVIe siècle la bibliothèque contenait environ 2'000 livres, qui entrèrent presque tous, après l’abolition du monastère, en possession de l’université, constituant un fonds important de la future bibliothèque universitaire. Parmi ceux-ci, 600 manuscrits sont actuellement en cours de catalogage auprès de la Bibliothèque universitaire de Bâle. En outre, une sélection de volumes, choisis en raison de leur pertinence scientifique, est en cours de numérisation, y compris des manuscrits en allemand de la bibliothèque des convers, ainsi que des textes de chartreux bâlois.

Toutes les bibliothèque et les collections

Preview Page
Basel, Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt, Klosterarchiv, Kartaus L
Papier · 380 ff. · 31 x 21.5 cm · chartreuse de Bâle · ca. 1430-1520
Liber benefactorum

Le Liber benefactorum, le livre des bienfaiteurs de la chartreuse de Bâle, a été progressivement copié entre 1430 et 1520. La partie principale du manuscrit, un calendrier créé au début du XVe siècle, contient les noms de plus de 800 bienfaiteurs. Conçu dès l’origine suivant la structure d’un Liber benefactorum, ce manuscrit a des liens étroits avec un martyrologe de la chartreuse de Bâle (StABS, Klosterarchiv Kartaus N) produit sous le prieur Heinrich Arnoldi. (pla)

En ligne depuis: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A I 14
Parchemin · 312 ff. · 28-29 x 21 cm · troisième quart du XVème siècle
Thomas d’Aquin, Summa theologiae (prima pars)

Le manuscrit de facture soignée contient la première partie de la Summa theologiae de Thomas d’Aquin, l’un des chefs-d’œuvre du théologien scolastique. Il provient de la bibliothèque du chartreux bâlois Johannes de Lapide. Les fascicules se composent d’une succession en alternance régulière de feuillets de parchemin et de papier ; le proemium commence par une page décorée avec de l’or, une initiale Q sur feuille d’or, un cadre à entrelacs avec des fleurs et des baies et un entrecolonne décoré.  (flr)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 1
Papier · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1396
Nicolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Genesim et Exodum

Annotations sur la Genèse et l’Exode. Écrit en 1396 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 52 dessins à la plume colorés qui occupent du quart à la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 2-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 2
Papier · 180 ff. · 29.5-30.5 x 21 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1397
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Leviticum, Numeros et Deuteronomium

Annotations sur le Lévitique, les Nombres et le Deutéronome. Écrit en 1397 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 23 dessins à la plume colorés qui occupent la plupart du temps la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1, ‬3-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 3
Papier · 210 ff. · 28.5 x 20.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Iosue, Iudicum, Ruth, Esdrae, Iob

Annotations sur les Livres de Josué, des Juges, de Ruth, d’Esdras et de Job. Écrit en 1401 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 58 dessins à la plume, en partie ou entièrement colorés, qui occupent la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬2, ‬4-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 4
Papier · 151 ff. · 30.5-31.5 x 22-22.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1400-1401
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super libros Regum et Esther

Annotations sur le Livre des Rois et d’Esther. Écrit en 1400-1401 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 52 dessins à la plume, insérés dans une colonne et en partie colorés, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬3, ‬5-‬6 et ‬10-‬13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 5
Papier · 200 ff. · 28-29 x 21.5-22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Ieremiam, Danielem, in Machabaeorum et Iudith

Annotations sur les Livres de Jérémie, de Daniel, des Macchabées et de Judith. Écrit en 1393 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 53 dessins à la plume colorés et en partie entourés d’un cadre, qui occupent la moitié de la page ou une page entière, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-‬4, ‬6 et ‬10-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 6
Papier · 184 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · probablement 1393-1396
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Isaiam et Dodecapropheton (Os-Hab)

Postille sur Isaïe et les douze petits prophètes, écrit probablement entre 1393 et 1396 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de deux dessins schématiques du cadran solaire qui illustrent le miracle de la guérison d’Ezéchias. Le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie A II 1-5, et 10-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 10
Papier · 142 ff. · 29.5-30 x 21-21.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1392
Nycolaus de Lyra; Jacobus de Cessolis

Annotations sur l’Evangile de Matthieu et un traité sur le jeu d’échecs de Jacques de Cessoles. Écrit en 1392 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 13 dessins à la plume colorés, insérés dans une colonne, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, et ‬11-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 11
Papier · 190 ff. · 30 x 21.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1392-1393
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Evangelia Iohannis, Lucae et Marci, postilla super Tobiam et Baruch

Annotations sur l’Evangile de Jean, Luc et Marc et sur les livres de Tobie et Baruch. Écrit en 1392-1393 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de trois dessins à la plume colorés en pleine page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10 et ‬12-13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 12
Papier · 151 ff. · 30-30.5 x 22 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1405-1407
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super Actus apostolorum, super Apocalypsim et super septem epistolas canonicas

Annotations sur les Actes des Apôtres, l’Apocalypse et les lettres canoniques. Écrit en 1405-1407 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf, décoré de 14 dessins à la plume en partie colorés et qui occupent la moitié de la page, le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie ‬A II 1-6, ‬10-‬11 et 13, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 19.03.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A II 13
Papier · 219 ff. · 30-30.5 x 20-20.5 cm · [Fribourg-en-Brisgau] · 1413-1415
Nycolaus de Lyra, Postilla super epistulas Pauli

Postille sur les Epîtres de Paul, écrit en 1413-1415 par le prêtre fribourgeois Rüdiger Schopf. Le manuscrit fait partie d’une copie, constituée de plusieurs volumes et richement illustrée, du commentaire de la Bible de Nicolas de Lyre Postilla super totam Bibliam, que le prêtre séculier Rüdiger Schopf de Memmingen a réalisée, entre 1392 et 1415, pour la chartreuse de Fribourg-en-Brisgau. En 1430, les volumes, dont font aussi partie les volumes A II 1-6 et 10-12 richement illustrés, ont été vendus à la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 26
Papier · 288 ff. · 29 x 21 cm · Bâle · moitié du XVème siècle
Nicolas de Lyre, Interprétation du Psautier, 1ère partie (Psaumes 1-74)

Traduction en allemand de la Postilla sur les Psaumes de Nicolas de Lyre (mort en 1349), probablement encore réalisée de son vivant. Le commentaire sur les psaumes, d’abord attribué à Heinrich von Mügeln, est l’oeuvre d’un anonyme qui n’est pas encore attesté historiquement, ledit « Österreichischer Bibelübersetzer ». Celui-ci traduit le texte de base en l’abrégeant et en le munissant d’ajouts. L’exemplaire, provenant de la bibliothèque de la Chartreuse de Bâle, peut être daté de la moitié du XVème siècle et ses miniatures appartiennent au groupe de Vullenhoe. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 20.12.2016

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A III 52
Papier · 2 ff. · 29.5 x 20.5 cm; 32 x 22.5 cm · Chartreuse de Bâle · dernier quart du XVème siècle
Ludwig Moser, « Goldenes Ave Maria » (texte et adaptation)

Les deux feuillets isolés transmettent les deux strophes du « Goldenes Ave maria » : la première fois sous la forme d’une chanson glosée, « Ave got grüß dich reine magt » (A III 52a), la deuxième fois sous la forme d’une adaptation due au chartreux bâlois Ludwig Moser (A III 52b). Les deux textes ont probablement été transcrits par celui-ci à la chartreuse de Bâle. (stu)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A V 26
Papier · 180 + 1 ff. · 29.5 x 22 cm · deuxième moitié du XVe siècle
Manuscrit composite à contenu théologique

La première partie du manuscrit, provenant de la chartreuse de Bâle, contient un traité sur les punitions adéquates pour divers délits contre les commandements et les sacrements. La deuxième partie est constituée par un recueil d’hymnes en latin qui, en plus d’une traduction allemande interlinéaire, sont aussi accompagnés d’une traduction allemande libre sous la forme d’un texte continu, combiné en partie avec une brève interprétation. Suivent des textes sur la messe et quelques Opuscula de Grégoire de Nazianze, une lettre de Johannes Heynlin de Lapide sur les qualités du bon prêtre et un texte court d’Heinrich Arnoldi sur un sermon sur Marie. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 14.06.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VI 12
Papier · 231 ff. · 29.5 x 21 cm · troisième quart du XVe siècle
Johannes Heynlin : Disputationes

Le volume en papier de la bibliothèque de la chartreuse de Bâle, sans décor, contient les Disputationes ou Quaestiones de Johannes Heynlin de Lapide. Ces discussions qui, selon la note au folio 1r, se déroulèrent à Paris en présence et à l’instigation de Heynlin, ont été copiées par différentes mains, y compris celle de Heynlin lui-même. (mue)

En ligne depuis: 14.12.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 21
Papier · 67 ff. · 21 x 15 cm · chartreuse de Bâle · vers 1510
Statuts des frères convers de l’ordre chartreux

Vers 1510 le chartreux bâlois Georg Carpentarius traduisit les statuts des frères lais de son ordre, du latin vers l’allemand. Le texte a été considéré dans la chartreuse de Bâle comme étant l’autographe du traducteur. Il se trouvait conservé dans la bibliothèque des convers. (stu)

En ligne depuis: 04.10.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 27a
Papier · 172 ff. · 22 x 15.5 cm · chartreuse de Bâle · 1489
Epithalamium sive soliloquium beatae Mariae virginis

Le volume fut copié en 1489 par Ambrosius Alantsee (†1505). Originaire de Füssen, Ambrosius fut immatriculé en 1468/69 à l’Université de Bâle et il a manifestement transcrit, entre 1484 et 1492, différents livres, liturgiques pour la plupart, dans la chartreuse de cette ville, dont cet Epithalamium (chant de noces ou de mariage) pour la Vierge. Il s’agit peut-être du même Ambrosius Alantsee attesté comme prieur en 1491 au monastère de Sankt Mang à Füssen. (stu)

En ligne depuis: 22.03.2018

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 30
Parchemin et papier · 240 ff. · 21 x 14.5 cm · Bâle · seconde moitié du XVème siècle
Manuscrit composite (Henricus Arnoldi)

Le manuscrit composite, provenant de la chartreuse de Bâle, contient principalement des textes de dévotion et de spiritualité, certains manuscrits, d'autres imprimés. Le compilateur (et dans la première partie du codex également le scribe) est, pour la plus grande partie, Heinrich Arnoldi, prieur de la chartreuse de 1449 à 1480. (flr)

En ligne depuis: 26.09.2017

Preview Page
Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, A VII 42
Papier · 276 ff. · 21 x 15.5 cm · 1465; XVe siècle
Manuscrit composite (théologie)

Ce manuscrit composite, propriété de Johannes Heynlin, un érudit et moine chartreux bâlois, se compose de diverses parties manuscrites ou imprimées, à caractère théologique, parmi lesquelles le traité du dominicain et réformateur de l’Eglise Johannes Nider De saecularium religionibus, écrit en 1465 par un copiste français et annoté par Heynlin, ou le De miseria humanae conditionis de Poggio Bracciolini, un des plus importants humanistes italiens de la Renaissance. A la mort de Heynlin le volume entra en possession de la bibliothèque de la chartreuse de Bâle. (gam/flr)

En ligne depuis: 25.06.2015

Documents: 104, affichés: 1 - 20